E3d v6 keeps clogging

Discussion in 'E3D-v6 and Lite6' started by Patryk3463, Aug 31, 2017.

1. Patryk3463

Patryk3463 Member

Hello everyone. Im quite new to the 3d printing and I'm not too sure how to fix few problems. What im struggling with is mk2s keeps clogging with original fillament and extruder motor skills steps leading into failures. It happened a few times before but usually all I do is set temperature to 280 degrees and force the clog out which has worked, but now my 8h print has failed at 96% due to a clog which really annoyed me. So I have taken it apart and i found the clog not in the nozzle, not in the cold side but rather in that tube between the two. So I have heated it up and pushed out the clog. I dont want to put everything together again just to have it clog again. I thought before I do that ill ask someone with more experience.

I have tried to clean out the tube completely but it seems solid. It looks like the tube wasn't drilled all the way through ? And when I push fillament through it creates small resistance. Could that be there intentionally ? To stop molten plastic climb up around fillament? Or coild it still be plastic ? 20170830_223055.jpg 20170831_041410.jpg 20170830_223801.jpg 20170830_223423.jpg 20170830_223333.jpg 20170830_223055.jpg 20170831_041410.jpg

2. Old_Tafr

Old_Tafr Well-Known Member

Sounds like the heatbreak tube is getting too hot. Maybe there isn't enough cooling, so fan speed too low? or not directed onto the heat sink? I found that the blue shroud could be fitted either way up, but that it isn't symetrical, so worth having a look at that.

The build instructions at some stage do say that the shroud can be fitted either way up, but fitting it the wrong way (ok which way is "wrong"?) has two effects...

A. Less air is directed onto the fins of the heat sink.

B. The shroud can touch the hot end and melt. Obviously depends on the arrangement of the whole assembly, printer type etc.