E3D-V6 Lite: Thermal Runaway

Discussion in 'E3D-v6 and Lite6' started by Apathy, Aug 2, 2017.

1. Apathy

Apathy Member

I've been using the V6-Lite for about 6 months and it's been performing for me without a problem up until now. Unfortunately I can't finish a print, the temperature of the hot-end stays steady for ages then all of a sudden it starts to oscillate below the set temperature by about 5 degrees and the set temperature, causing the thermal runaway protection to kick in on the marlin firmware. I've attached a screenshot of the temperature plot after failure.

I've tried using the PID auto-tune but still having the same problem. I have it sat on the bench at the moment reading about 107KOhm at room temperature. The connections to the plug that came on the thermistor cartridge aren't damaged and appear to be fine on visual inspection. I tried wiggling the cables during operation and didn't observe any errors on the temperature readouts.

Hope you can help!
    Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Antoine

Antoine Well-Known Member
    Staff Member

Does this happen when your part cooling fan kicks in (layer 2/3 depending on your slicer settings). Sometime the additional cooling provided by the air flowing over the heater block can be sufficient to unsettle the PID. If this is the case, either run the PID tuning with the fan on, re-design your part cooling duct to avoid cooling the block, or put a silicon sock on it.
    Another possible cause would be a heater cartridge which doesn't have enough power to heat the block up when the part cooling fan is on. This can happen to old heater cartridges, which can degrade over time.
    You might also have a loose connection in your heater cable which stops the heater from heating properly, check your heater wiring. This doesn't seem like a sensor issue, more like a heater/cooling issue.

3. Old_Tafr

Old_Tafr Well-Known Member