What do you want to do with two print materials?

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by Robotchery, Sep 4, 2015.

1. Robotchery

Robotchery Member

Hello Team BigBox Dual!

I got a dual because I want to print with soluble support material. Also, I am thinking of making some cosplay shoes made from flexibles and a bodies made in stiffer materials. Anyways, if you have any creative ideas for dual-extrusion, I would love to know!

eca likes this.
  2. Syko_Symatic

Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

I plan to do the same, the soluble support is the main reason for the dual. Planning on doing a full size iron man helmet (for the children ;)).

Some larger items for my own use as well as some prototype products. (I am a CAD Designer by profession)

3. Rickbar

Rickbar New Member

I also wanted to print with solubles. The main reason for dual is to always have an extra head laying around ready to print if anything happens with the other. I believe the most important thing with all printers is proper maintenance. Going through a checklist before each and every print job. Check little things like for loose screws etc...to cleaning the hotends after each use with the filament that E3D has online. It may look like overkill but I've gotten killer prints even from my Duplicator 4 every single time and no problems ever. The BigBox Dual is just perfect for that. You can remove one head if need be and still keep on printing. Of course the second most important thing is be involved in the forums because you learn so much and catch problems before they arise. All the little upgrade ideas also helps with keeping your printer on top no matter how old it is. ps...I'll definitely let the forum know of any creative ideas for the dual.

4. Falc.be

Falc.be Well-Known Member

Mostly because of support materials, or to use a smaller nozzle for the xhell (detail) and a larger for the infill

Colin likes this.
  5. KNM3D

KNM3D Well-Known Member