About to start building BigBox3d Pro printer. Any tips?

Discussion in 'Build Help' started by Russell, Jun 23, 2019.

1. Russell

Russell Member

Hey all,

You're probably going to cringe, but several years on, I am finally going to get started on building my bigbox 3d printer. It's the plywood pro version. It was delayed for various reasons, time being a big one, but also an international move to Canada. So this box has been from the UK, to Canada, and back to the UK. And now it's going to get built, starting today.

So, any suggestions before I get started? I'm a newbie to this (very DIY savvy in woodwork mainly), so I'm going to be following the online guide step by step, as well as the suggestions on the wiki from Livi's Pre-Build guide, but just thought I would put the question out there if anyone had any further tips for a new build.

gonzalo likes this.
  2. jfb

jfb Well-Known Member

I'ts certainly a bit delayed :)

You should be fine with the early set of tips - if you already have another 3d printer, I'd really recommend printing off a lot of the little nut trap holders - I use these ones https://forum.e3d-online.com/threads/simple-retainer-for-nut-traps.882/ If you don't want to have to use superglue to hold the nuts on the nut traps, these are good https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1515409/apps. If you don't have another printer already, then you can certainly do without - I'd suggest holding the nut traps in place with tape in that case. I initially built mine (acrylic dual) using just the build guide and Liv's tips and had no problems getting it working well - though I have to admit levelling the dual nozzles was a pain.