COMPLETE Access OctoPrint Camera Off Network

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by PsyVision, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    Hello,

    So the OctoPrint upgrade uses MJPG-streamer to capture images from cameras. This can be accessed at the following URL on your internal network:

    http://192.168.1.156:8080

    Obviously changing the IP address to that of your RPi. Or you can use http://octopi.local:8000/ if you have Bonjour/mDNS working.

    If you wish to expose a single page with a stream then the following can be used:

    http://192.168.1.156:8080/stream_simple.html

    You could either forward this on your router or use NGinx as a reverse proxy:
    https://github.com/foosel/OctoPrint/wiki/Reverse-proxy-configuration-examples
     
    eca and Jonas like this.
  2. Mike Kelly

    Mike Kelly Volunteer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    89
    Did you actually get this working? I setup a DUC to access remotely and it doesn't seem to pass through
     
  3. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    Hi Mike - not yet...

    I have a Dyn DNS subdomain on my main domain that forwards to my home IP. The update client and nginx proxy are on a server I run at home, unfortunately this is offline at the moment until I can get some Molex to SATA adapters after I made a mistake switching drive bay caddies over last night. I see no reason why it wouldnt work as I am already forwarding my Ubiquiti CCTV system out and that works fine.

    I presume you are port forwarding on your router?
     
  4. Mike Kelly

    Mike Kelly Volunteer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    89
    Correct. I have the port opened and pointed at the octopi, but trying to ping my dns doesn't seem to send a response, even when I specify :5000 at the end
     
  5. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    I was trying to find out how to PM you but couldnt find how to do it on this forum software.

    Pinging your DNS name, you won't want the port number. Have you rebooted the router, as some need doing, when you've added the port? Does it work if you use your public IP address?

    Not sure if you have a Dyn DNS update issue, a port forward issue or a routing issue.
     
  6. Mike Kelly

    Mike Kelly Volunteer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    89
    PM's are called Conversations on here but I need to check into that some more since I'm not seeing a way to start one with you...

    Once I add a port to my router it forces a restart so I'm pretty sure it's not that.

    Pinging my public IP or Dyn DNS have the same affect.

    I'm wondering if Comcast is blocking the incoming traffic. We've noticed that 80 is not a port you can unblock on the client side. Seems like they force that closed
     
  7. Mike Kelly

    Mike Kelly Volunteer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    89
    PM's are called Conversations on here but I need to check into that some more since I'm not seeing a way to start one with you...

    Once I add a port to my router it forces a restart so I'm pretty sure it's not that.

    Pinging my public IP or Dyn DNS have the same affect.

    I'm wondering if Comcast is blocking the incoming traffic. We've noticed that 80 is not a port you can unblock on the client side. Seems like they force that closed
     

Share This Page