ASMBL Power Supply and Vacuum

Discussion in 'ASMBL' started by smoki3, Jul 24, 2020.

  1. Maël 3DPI

    Maël 3DPI Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found all the others pins, but where you find the correct pin for the PWM ?
     
  2. yngndrw

    yngndrw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'm assuming it's RepRapFirmware V2, the interesting parts are:
    Code:
    M307 H7 A-1 C-1 D-1 F45000       ; Disable Heaters for use with PWM
    M305 S"ASMBL" P4 X205            ; Set thermistor
    M106 P8 S255 T50                 ; ASMBL ESC
    M280 P7 S40                      ; Init ASMBL ESC
    M42 P7 S0                        ; ASMBL off
    With the related documentation links:
    M307: Set or report heating process parameters
    M305: Set temperature sensor parameters
    M106: Fan On
    M280: Set servo position
    M42: Switch I/O pin
    Using servos and controlling unused IO pins (Pin mappings for M42 & M280)

    It's slightly confusing as M106 seems to specify fan #8, while M42 & M280 specify pin #7 which is fan #0. I think the M106 command is incorrect (Fan #8 does not exist) and that it is meant to be connected as fan #0. Nope I was incorrect, see below - PWM #5.
     
    #22 yngndrw, Oct 28, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2020
  3. Greg_The_Maker

    Greg_The_Maker Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    632
  4. Rene

    Rene Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    Any vacuum-recommendations? Maybe some goodlooking but cheap ones?
     
  5. Greg_The_Maker

    Greg_The_Maker Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    632

    Something that sucks and can be fed power from a PSU.
     
    Adriaan Greyling likes this.
  6. Rene

    Rene Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    What about using a secondary SSR to switch a mains-powered vacuum?
     
    Adriaan Greyling likes this.
  7. Greg_The_Maker

    Greg_The_Maker Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    632

    You can do anything you like :)
     
    Adriaan Greyling likes this.
  8. Adriaan Greyling

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm likely to go this route, having used (and seized) a 12V unit, a shopvac (albeit noisy), with a variable intake nozzle is my now go to option
     
  9. Rene

    Rene Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    Any special reasons why you decided to do that?
     
  10. Adriaan Greyling

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    The previous vacuum was controlled via a relay and powered by a 12v supply, the motor managed to overheat,which melted the ABS fan into its shroud and well...
     
    Rene likes this.
  11. VoodooBane

    VoodooBane Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey Greg I can't find a Dyson clone that uses 12V I am having trouble finding the clones in general besides on amazon.? Can you help with the model number of the one you bought please? Also is my belt supposed to get hot when the motor runs? the rotating part of the motor I think is generating the heat. maybe it is my bearing. They might need washers. Please look at your ebay and let me know the model number so I know what to look for.

    Thankyou
     
  12. Greg_The_Maker

    Greg_The_Maker Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    632
    Hi,

    The vacuum wasn't bought new and was a very old one that was laying around. The parts with the model number on have long been disposed of. The only writting on it is onson. You dont have to stick to one particular voltage, you could get a converter and adjust the motor voltage. Or simply run one off mains and have an SSR turn it on and off. The only reason I used the particular vacuum that I did, is that it happened to be available for use.

    The ASMBL tool does get hot. Make sure you use high qualty bearings and don't over-tighten the top bracket. Do remember that the ASMBL tool is a very very early prototype and should really only be used as a learnign step towards something else. It was designed as a technology demonstrator and as a 'look at what i can do' style tool. How well it performs rests entiraely on how well it has been assembled.

    The latest versions of the ASMBL too i use have been made using ASMBL and all the bearing pockects are machined. They are also printed in PEEK......
     
  13. Marco Miedaner

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    i have problems getting the motor to start. I plugged the esc in the PWM#5 output and the motor is powered from the PSU. As soon as i power up, the motor starts beeping (2 beeps and then a short pause). The only thing i found on google is that you have to calibrate the ESC the first time by defining the max and min value.
    Anyone else got this problem or can someone help me here?
    Thank you!
     
  14. Greg_The_Maker

    Greg_The_Maker Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    632
    You'll need to set the PWM to 0, although the actual command to do that is

    M280 P7 S40 ; Init ASMBL ESC

    P7 might need changing depending on where you have your PWM input plugged in. I have that command in my startup config.g

    I turn on the ASMBL tool with

    M280 P7 S80 ; Turn on ASMBL

    To turn it back off again use

    M280 P7 S40 ; Turn off ASMBL
     
  15. Marco Miedaner

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Greg,

    Thank you very much for your answer!
    i tried to include the M280 P7 S40 in the config.g file and the PWM Port 7 should be correct, but the motor still doesnt move. Do you have any other ideas what i could try?
     
  16. Greg_The_Maker

    Greg_The_Maker Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    632
    Get a servo tester off amazon or ebay and make sure the motor runs with that. I have had a dodgy ESC before.
     
    Marco Miedaner likes this.

Share This Page