Bed mesh leveling

Discussion in 'Motion System' started by GoffyOne, Sep 29, 2019.

  1. GoffyOne

    GoffyOne Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    When running the bed mesh leveling there is something strange at the end.
    It runs through and checks z at points defined, but when done it crashes the x axis into the 0 ends.
    it seams it treys to go beyond the min x possible.
    Anyone else having this problem?
     
  2. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    481
    Are you running the levelling from the DWC, or from a macro? Actioned via the DWC, it should just stop over the final point. If you're using a macro, that macro should help you figure out what else it's trying to do.
     
  3. GoffyOne

    GoffyOne Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am just running it from the web interface.
     
  4. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    481
    Not sure.

    Have you checked your config.g contains the mesh definition?

    M557 X10:290 Y20:180 S40 ; Define mesh grid

    Are you using a pre-existing config.g from another printer or a brand new one pulled from Github?

    M557 docs: https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Gcode#Section_M557_Set_Z_probe_point_or_define_probing_grid

    You might try running G29 from the console directly

    G29 S1 to run the levelling

    G29 docs: https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Gcode#Section_G29_Mesh_bed_probe

    Have you run homeall before the mesh bed levelling?
     
  5. GoffyOne

    GoffyOne Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I reinstalled sd card. And tried to run g29 s1 but got an error that the heightmatp.csv was not found.
    So hit the autobed compensation button and it starts running it.
    The first time I run it I did not had the glas on so it worked just fine, now the glas was on and the outer most points in x axis are just on the edge of the glas plate that is a few mm smaller then the bed.
    And as the micro switch probed at the edge it broke :( so now have to w8 till I can get a replacement switch.
     
  6. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    622
    If you home it without the glass and then dont rehome when you put the glass on it will not be in the correct position. You should have homed it again to allow it to adjust to the height of the glass before running the mesh levelling command.
     
    mhe likes this.
  7. smoki3

    smoki3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thats why you should place a M98 P"homez.g" in the bed.g macro
     
    mhe likes this.
  8. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    622
    I have updated the scripts and added G28 Z
     
    CHP likes this.
  9. GoffyOne

    GoffyOne Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    The z was zeroed out.
    I run without glass plate first and then noticed that after last point probing it went to z x and crashed into the end point.
    Then made the first post here,
    After the first reply I reinstalled the SD card and also installed the glass plate.
    then run the bed leveling and that is when I destroyed the micro switch.
    The out most x probing point was at the edge of the glass that has a chamfer /fillet so as the bed came up there was a force on the switch in x direction and broke it of.
    I later run a random movement of x and y axis at different speeds. at F15000 the hotend holder ended up in wrong spot.
    noticed that the motor pulley for was actually loose and the the screw for it was not aligned with the flat surface of the motor shaft.
    was actually same problem on both motors.
    but still find it odd that during the leveling the the outmost point was so far out if the pulley was slipping then it would actually not end up farther out. Will retest it when I get new switch not with fastened pulleys.

    btw the Z-rail screws ware not fully tighten ether. could rock the bed a bit. first thought was it was the screw I assembled the bed holder with but turned out to be the preassembled ones.
     
  10. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    32
    Screenshot_2.jpg
    Thats how I got my Z-axis :p
     
  11. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    622
    Hello,

    When did you receive your kits? I shall investigate why that has happened.
     
  12. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    32
    In case you asked for my tiny problem too:
    "shipped 19 Dec 2019 as order #002080176"
    But that single flaw alone is no problem for me. But yes, some unknown person has not been working 100% accurate. :)

    (I am still building up the machine and read more than I actually do. Some parts (docks, additional steppers, blank plates) which I had in a second order are not shipped yet. I replaced bowden by two 3mm titan aeros and will look into the hemera kit later for the other two 1,75mm tools)
     
  13. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    622

    Thanks I shall look into it for you.
     

Share This Page