COMPLETE BigBox 1.1

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by Greg_The_Maker, Apr 8, 2016.

  1. Greg_The_Maker

    Greg_The_Maker Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    632
    You will need the O'rings, the silicone strip is not so important.
     
  2. elmoret

    elmoret Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    101
    Are new O-rings needed if the user already has some from BB 1.0?
     
  3. Greg_The_Maker

    Greg_The_Maker Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    632
    nope.
     
  4. Steven Burns

    Steven Burns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    55
    What does the strip do? I have a single which does not use o-rings. Are they in the Titan box? If not, Tim, can you get them?

    While we are at it, can you get both? I'll send you a note at Filastruder as well.

    Guess I should have waited for the kit rather than jumping the gun and ordering just the Titan.
     
  5. Henry feldman

    Henry feldman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    391
    My current strip has never fit quite right (insanely hard to get level and is somewhat wrinkly like an old t-shirt collar)
     
  6. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    735
    The strip is for the ooze wiper. On a Pro it was shorter...
     
  7. Steven Burns

    Steven Burns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    55
    Oh, that makes sense. Then I really do need the strip!!!
     
  8. elmoret

    elmoret Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    101
    You won't be penalized for ordering early, we'll work it out. I'm in talks with E3D and will update the thread here once I know more.
     
  9. Falc.be

    Falc.be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    40
    questions,
    - can we re-use the current motors from the extruders ?
    - the carriage seems to be missing in the STL files
    - will there be a seperate upgrade guide ?
     
  10. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    I can live with 3mm lost. I am now redesigning the spool holder to be compatible with the titan. I always found the regional design too complex, since we have nice rods, I am going to use bearings o those to let me big spool roll!
     
  11. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    174
    - You can re-use the Bowden motor (the one that is going to the back) For the direct drive, you better buy the 40Nm version, it is lighter. Or the Livi motor, it is even more lighter.
    - It is in BigBox Plans V1.1\1.1\stl (point_one_hotends.stl)
    - I think so (@Greg Holloway ?)
     
  12. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    So, I shouldN'T release the 3d model of the bigbox I am putting together... lol
     
  13. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    Dang lol
     
  14. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    I have a design that is for an airtight box for the spool holder and it has a friction clutch to keep it from spinning too much... Let me know if you are interesting.
     
    Colin likes this.
  15. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    483
    I imagine that'll be fine pretty soon as I think the KS backers are almost done, at which point it should all be opened up (IIRC).
     
  16. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    I hope it isn't too soon, I'm not done, lol
     
  17. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    483
    Well, having ordered the Titans I thought I'd better take a look at which parts I need to print. Do I just need to print one of everything in the 1.1 folder? @Greg Holloway, any chance you could zip some of that stuff up on the file server? Downloading each individual file must be contributing to RSI for everyone.

    So, what do I need to print, in total, to go from dual 1.0 to dual 1.1 with dual titans? Anyone got a printing list for that? Are there any secrets to print orientation or are all the STLs ready to go (I'm assuming they are). The direct folder has a direct bowden file in it that the direct bowden directory doesn't contain.

    Is it safe/sensible to print the non-high temp stuff in PLA, or would XT/PETG offer any significant advantage?
    I'm assuming the HiTemp stuff needs to be in ABS/MatX/PLA HT?
     
  18. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    Chase, I am changing the spool getting rid of the original small bearings and using M8 hearings on the rod themselves. This has several advantages, from simplicity to lower and father away spool compatible with all sort of spools.
    I saw a modified spool setting on the forum (maybe yours?) using a spacer, but I prefer going this route (since I also have quite some M8 bearings :) ).

    Loving that I am modifying things before I have ever finished the building :) Something that always happens to me
     
  19. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    Oh I thought you were modifying for a large spool, I have a 10kg spool, and it won't work on the BigBox unless you bolt it to the table.. That and I use ABS mostly, so I am trying to get them all in an airtight enclosure so I don't have the zits all over the prints.
     
  20. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    I use 1kg and might use the 2.2kb, but for the huge spools I will use the monster rolls I have bought some time ago. Real beasts!
     

Share This Page