BigBox BuildTak

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by Steven Burns, Mar 27, 2016.

1. Steven Burns

Steven Burns Well-Known Member

Has anyone purchased BuildTak and, if so, what size?

Can you buy larger and then Cut them down to fit? I ask as none of the sizes appear to fit the BigBox exactly.

2. LiviLammister

LiviLammister Active Member

I got a 12x12in sheet and cut it to size. It would be nice if they started carrying a BB sized sheet though

3. Miasmictruth

Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

Does anyone use buildtak on the BB, I have never tried it before.

4. Spoon Unit

Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

5. Chase.Wichert

Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

Actually I use PEI on the heat bed for the M3D, and Kapton. Both work well. So I have not used Buildtak on a heated bed... I do really like the wolfbite nano, and one bottle will last a pretty long time.

6. Henry feldman

Henry feldman Well-Known Member

I'm using the wolf bite which works really well, although you need to make sure it is thin (thick layers seem to fail more often)

7. LiviLammister

I am using BuildTak on mine right now. Oddly enough I am using it less for bed adhesion and more so my bed is a uniform color for bed leveling. However, it has fixed the curling issues I was having with some materials.

albert stouder likes this.
  8. Miasmictruth

I suppose I could look this up other places, but does it work for all/most material? How is the part release on cool down?

9. LiviLammister

So far I haven't had problems removing parts. That being said, I've been using BuildTak for a while now, so I have some tricks. The big thing is that your nozzle can't be too close to the bed for the first layer. Some people like to put their nozzle really close to the bed, causing their first layer to be smushed, but these sorts of prints are a TOTAL PAIN to remove from a BuildTak surface.

Also, no elastomers (stretchy plastics). That stuff sticks no matter what.

10. Stefan

Stefan Well-Known Member