COMPLETE BigBox Firmware Plugin

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by tohara, Aug 5, 2016.

  1. Björn

    Björn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    188
    How cool is this! Thanks!
     
  2. tohara

    tohara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    59
    Have you tried it on your BB?
     
  3. Björn

    Björn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    188
    Yes, just did so. want to test the lin_adv feature on RC7. this is really useful!
     
  4. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    483
    Just trying to test this for the first time. I've set up a repo, which it downloaded. When I hit Flash Firmware I just get

    Starting......
    Done!

    This is instantaneous. The BB doesn't reboot and as far as I can tell, nothing has happened. Any ideas? Is there a log file somewhere where I could see what it tried and failed to do?
     
  5. Björn

    Björn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    188
    I had the same problem at the beginning, but now (after a few updates of the plugin) it works flawless. Sorry, but I dunno what caused the problem.
     
  6. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    483
    Thanks for your update. This is the very latest plugin code. I have a concern that maybe the pre-requisites didn't complete fully. Perhaps I should putty in and do that manually ...
     
  7. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    483
    OK Got a little further. Seems I never went back into my profile after I did the manage repo bit. After going back in there (thinking that might result in something getting saved), I then pushed Flash again, and got this ... all very rapidly ...

    Starting......
    Checking out selected branch...
    Switched to branch '1.0.x'
    Your branch is up-to-date with 'origin/1.0.x'.
    Updating selected branch...
    HEAD is now at b3e60b4 Update reference to out wiki
    Already on '1.0.x'
    Your branch is up-to-date with 'origin/1.0.x'.
    Writing configuration..........
    Done!

    Not sure if that's actually flashed it though. Let's see ...
     
  8. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    483
    Bit more fiddling and I've now selected a different build. OK compilation ocurring.
     
  9. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    483
  10. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    483
    Interesting journey. I've now seen ABL in action. I wonder why that doesn't use 9 points like MBL?
     
  11. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    483
    Does anyone have an exported profile for a dual titan MBL? I've defined MESH_BED_LEVELING and MANUAL_BED_LEVELING and removed AUTO_BED_LEVELING, and now I have no leveling feature at all.
     
  12. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    483
    Got there in the end. I'd added MESH_BED_LEVELING but hadn't then ticked it. After a bit more work, got to the point where I got everything running, went through levelling, and then after saving all settings - turned the machine off. I was hoping that when I turned it back in, it would remember the mesh settings, as I didn't have that before, and was so chuffed that this is now also fixed. Makes it much less of a concern to flick the machine off now. Printed my first layer test prints and it came out beautifully smooth. I'm just hoping now that the ZBed tune is also saved. But that can wait for morning.

    I'll attach the profile I have so far, in case anyone else is struggling. It would be really great @tohara if the defines were alphabetically ordered (or there was an option for that at least) and the same applies when adding an additional define. From the look of things, the UI is using knockout, so I think you can probably just add a sort to the "foreach" statement. If not, some jQuery post processing may be required.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. tohara

    tohara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    59
    gearmesh likes this.
  14. tohara

    tohara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    59
    All defines are sorted based on how they appear in the configuration files, but I agree that it would be nice to have an option to sort alphabetically. The UI is based on knockout js, but I already have a js sort function to read the order from the source configuration file. I will look into adding some buttons to swap between different sort methods.
     
    Spoon Unit likes this.
  15. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    483
    Thanks for the clearing that up.

    Oh hang on ...

    Saving....
    Checking if there are any changes.
    https://https://github.com/Alex9779/Marlin.git is not a valid Github repo or no internet connection.
    Done!
     
  16. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    735
    Hmmm you doubled the protocol...
     
  17. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    Just installed my v6 socks on some fresh 0.8 nozzles, dual titan head is complete and ir is mounted on the frame so sorting out the firmware now.

    Going for Alex's repo and the profile Spoon Unit has just uploaded :)
     
  18. Mark Curry

    Mark Curry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    15
    I'm having a problem.... when I open repo's there are no default repos already there... I added the Alex repo, and setup a new profile but when I hit the flash key the make fails with some files missing...

    /home/pi/.octoprint/data/bigboxfirmware/tmp/ultralcd.o: In function `lcd_setFont(char)':
    ultralcd.cpp:(.text._ZL11lcd_setFontc+0x26): undefined reference to `u8g_font_9x18'
    ultralcd.cpp:(.text._ZL11lcd_setFontc+0x28): undefined reference to `u8g_font_9x18'
    collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
    make: *** [/home/pi/.octoprint/data/bigboxfirmware/tmp/Marlin.elf] Error 1
    /home/pi/oprint/lib/python2.7/site-packages/octoprint_bigboxfirmware/lib/Makefile:290: recipe for target '/home/pi/.octoprint/data/bigboxfirmware/tmp/Marlin.elf' failed
    Something went wrong. Hex file does not exist!
     
  19. tohara

    tohara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    59
    There is no default repo included. The default profiles are based on https://github.com/tohara/Marlin.git

    What was the branch you used for this profile? Could you export the profile and post it?
     
    #59 tohara, Sep 5, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2016
  20. Mark Curry

    Mark Curry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    15
    Sure it was BigBox/Dual/RC_Hybrid_Titan_Mirrored_MBL
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page