COMPLETE BigBox Printer Bed Model for S3D

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by Chase.Wichert, Jun 8, 2016.

  1. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    If anyone is interested in a bed model for their S3D it is attached. Hopefully sometime I can get the whole printer model done. I almost have it done.

    Just go to Tools -> Options -> Machine, then at the bottom it should allow you add a printer model.
    BB Bed Model for S3D.JPG
     

    Attached Files:

    Thorvinus, JohnEsc, Colin and 12 others like this.
  2. Tom De Bie

    Tom De Bie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    33
    Cool. Thank you!
     
  3. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    This is really cool!
     
  4. Sarah Nicholson

    Sarah Nicholson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    114
    Although you need to do a 1.1 version as it doesn't have the protruding bit in the middle ;) (which meant I spent a good few minutes trying to find the screw I'd missed when the manual said do do up 15 screws before realising the 15th one was that front one which no longer exists on a 1.1....)
     
  5. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    I think I can build this into the profiles... Because it is based on the BigBox license I think I am free to use it in the profiles :)
     
  6. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    I don't see why they'd have a problem with it, less work they gotta do. Lol.

    I was going to do a v1.0 assembly and v1.1 assembly of the entire printer, however, I think at this point I am just going to stick with a 1.1
     
  7. Mark_T

    Mark_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    34
    Please tell me you are updating the manual as you go along with these excellent pearls of wisdom :)

    If not I'm going to have to read all of your posts alongside the manual when I eventually get to build mine.
     
  8. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
  9. Sarah Nicholson

    Sarah Nicholson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    114
    I will when I figure out how to get an account, scribbled down a few notes as I went for future updates.
     
  10. mike01hu

    mike01hu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    166
    This is lovely but in S3D 3.1 the image disappears after editing a process. Am I missing something?
     
  11. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Hmm, mine doesn't do that... Did you switch to a new profile?
     
  12. zauberertz

    zauberertz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Where can you set this on Mac OS?
     
  13. Henry feldman

    Henry feldman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    389
    Yep, happens to me too
     
  14. Henry feldman

    Henry feldman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    389
    preferences is the equivalent to tools on windows... so in preferences the list at the bottom of the machines tab there is an add button (totally unlabeled as to that's where STL files load) you add the STL file in and voila...
     
    JohnEsc and zauberertz like this.
  15. Ray

    Ray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    11
    I like this, if it was permitted it would be great if you could add the BigBox text on the build platform as well :)

    I must be doing something wrong, each time I close and re-open S3D 3.1 the visualization disappears and has to be re-added, I also couldn't find it where Chase mentioned, instead on the Mac I added it to:

    Simplify 3D -> Preferences (General Options) -> Machine -> Printer Models -> Add​
     
    JohnEsc likes this.
  16. Henry feldman

    Henry feldman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    389
    Also if the STL could randomly chip that would be great too... That way it would match mine... o_O
     
    Colin, mike01hu and Sarah Nicholson like this.
  17. zauberertz

    zauberertz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks woked! :)
     
  18. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    If I edit the same profile, it stays there, but I think if I switch to a new printing profile then it goes away, not sure on this though. Also I don't close mine very often lol.
     
  19. Ray

    Ray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    11
    So you do as I have done (or at least thats what it sounds like):

    Simplify 3D -> Preferences (General Options) -> Machine -> Printer Models -> Add​

    Then what do you do to make the change persist?

    Update: I just tried with S3D 3.0.2 and 3.1 (on OSX) and neither seem to persist the change, so shutting down S3D and re-opening it and the model disappears and has to be re-added.
     
    #19 Ray, Jun 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2016
  20. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Okay, I've been lying. I have no idea how to get it to persist. Maybe it has to be in the configuration for the printer. I know Alex is trying to work on getting good profiles for s3d with the bed model, that you can load into S3D, and hopefully eventually get E3D to put it on the S3D profile server.
     

Share This Page