Blank LCD, no firmware, wont connect

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by TstarkEngineering, Nov 23, 2016.

  1. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    120
    my pi wont connect now after a failed flash through some plugin on pi. Now I have a blank LCD im trying to connect by cable to rumba to flash firmware and xloader gets stuck in "uploading phase".

    I have no idea what to do just to get a single firmware version on the ramps.
     
    #1 TstarkEngineering, Nov 23, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2016
  2. markoaurelije

    markoaurelije Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi, I had similar problem but when uploading via AVR mkII programmer. I didn't manage to get firmware recovered until i disconected the LCD from the RUMBA and than reflashing again. Not sure if this helps your case, but you can try disconnecting LCD and trying to upload.
     
  3. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
  4. Jasons_BigBox

    Jasons_BigBox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    69
    On the Rumba, I found that I found that xloader doesn't work unless you set the baud rate to 115200 in xloader.

    Not sure if that helps?
     
  5. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    I just point again to the guide here: http://wiki.e3d-online.com/wiki/BigBox_Firmware_Flashing_Guide#Flashing_a_new_firmware
    At the bottom I linked the troubleshooting page too I linked above...
    Unfortunately that guide is not linked anywhere else in the Wiki...

    I tested all the ways when taking the screenshots. Though flashing on Windows was made on Windows 7.
     
  6. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    120
    That program keeps crashing on me.
    Under my device manager it shows the rumba as connected. The baud rate on xloader is correct as well.
     
  7. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    120
    I'm thinking it has something to do with the bootloader?
     
  8. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    120
    Something outside of the normal isn't on there or is a corrupt file or something. Normal flashing no longer works.
    It does recognize the USB though to a certain extent. Com4 shows the rumba. But other than that nothing.
     
  9. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Sorry then I am out of ideas if that troubleshooting does not work... Didn't try it myself that FLIP utility... Maybe try another platform, Linux or Mac?
     
  10. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    120
    Replaced the board. It fixed multiple problems. Hopefully e3d will warranty the board
     
  11. 3DDP

    3DDP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's funny, how several boards won't connect through several programs, operating systems, and several cables...
     

Share This Page