Calibrating Esteps

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by KNM3D, Jan 5, 2017.

  1. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    so I went to print after moving seems like the printer is extruding funny,
    so I decided to calibrate esteps, under motion menu
    starts at 304,
    did the 120mm calibration, do the math adjust the steps to 330, run the cal again,
    the difference was it extruded like 2 mm more.
    I have the dual FFF loaded.
    I have a dual, I'm calibrating the 0 extruder on the left,
    what am I over looking?
    oh and its the normal dual setup no hybrid or such.

    Yes I selected store memory.

    not sure whats wrong.

    thankyou for any help.
     
    #1 KNM3D, Jan 5, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2017
  2. Ephemeris

    Ephemeris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    182
    Do the calibration a couple more times without changing the e-steps. I've sometimes gotten some odd variations maybe due to filament irregularities or something.
     
  3. Jasons_BigBox

    Jasons_BigBox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    69
    As Ephemeris says, it's not unusual for the esteps to be off on the first attempt.

    One thing to be careful with is the fitting of the top PTFE tube into the extruder. If it's not seated properly, the filament can wander on the hobbed shaft and so the offset to the centre changes and so does the number of steps.

    From your description I'm not sure if you have the Titan extruder. On my input lever I permanently fitted a smaller ID piece of tube in the top as I was damaging the tube when I was fitting and removing it during calibration.
     
  4. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    322
    I always felt my method for actually measuring during estep calibration was open to error as the filament is long and movable. To that end, I put this little tube together to keep the filament straight when measuring, which you can twist round to find your mark:

    http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1876946
     
    cez likes this.
  5. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    still no luck. no matter how much I changed the esteps, it seems to always extrude the same amount.
    the black mark I make on the filament is almost in the exact same spot when it stops.
    I don't have the titan extruder.
    I I cant print anything as my computer isn't calibrated properly Spoon Unit**

    I have not idea what could be wrong. the filament isn't wandering.
     
  6. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    and I even did go the route of not changing the esteps just to see if the printer would fall into line. did 10 calibrations no luck
     
  7. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    322
    Could you show us an example of what's printing? Can you print a single layer at your given layer thickness as a starting point?
     
  8. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    there ya go 20170122_115807.jpg
     
  9. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    322
    Yeh. Looks like heavy over-extrusion. So what are you current e-steps set to? You say that changing the esteps doesn't change anything. Are you sure you're saving after setting. If you half the number of e-steps, you should see a huge change. If you don't, the for some reason the estep change isn't being saved. What nozzle are you using there? Looks quite big.
     
  10. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    .4 steel nozzle.
    yes I save
    they are at 329.5 right now
     
  11. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    322
    And if you half that to, say, 165, do you still see no change?
     
  12. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    I will try that.....
    yeah made a huge difference
     
  13. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    and boom
    had to change the esteps to 404 lol 100 more than I started.
     
  14. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trial and error. Bit painful, but glad you got there.
     
  15. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    how do i do the 40mm box test?
    what do i set the primary layer height to?

    im super close to having this beast up and running but the move i lost all my favorites for troubleshooting my printer.
    and the calibration ones too.
     
  16. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    322
    There's no one specific 40mm test that I'm aware of. Primary layer height is a personal decision based partly on the nozzle size you're using (don't choose a layer height over 80% of the nozzle diameter (e.g. for 0.4mm nozzle don't use more than 0.32). I personally use 0.3mm layer height almost exclusively for printing with the BB, but I'm after a smoother surface finish, I'll go for anything down to 0.1. I haven't had much success below 0.1, which for me is good enough. I suggest you start with 0.25mm layer height.

    As there's no specific test for 40mm, I would just recommend you print a small box 20 x 20 x 5 as a way to test several things:
    • x, y, and z dimensions printed accurately measure after printing
    • good bottom layer
    • no warping on print
    • good top layer
    20 x 20 is small enough not to worry you too much with warping. If you haven't already got an STL to hand for such a thing, paste this into OpenJSCAD (http://openjscad.org/):

    function main() {
    return cube([20,20,5])
    }

    Then save the STL, slice, and print.
     
  17. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    what should my wall thickness be with a .4 nozzle?
     
  18. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    322
    Again there's no single right answer. Depends what you want to achieve. I mostly print with two shells. Three would further prevent light to pass through the finished object.
     
  19. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    why is this happening
    20170127_174926_001_resized.jpg 20170127_174855_resized.jpg 20170127_174902_resized.jpg 20170127_174759_resized.jpg 20170127_174814_resized.jpg 20170127_174819_resized.jpg 20170127_174842_resized.jpg 20170127_174808_resized.jpg 20170127_174825_resized.jpg 20170127_174834_resized.jpg
     
  20. potti5

    potti5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    25

Share This Page