Cancelling print job with T2 selected...

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Ntesla66, Sep 25, 2019.

  1. Ntesla66

    Ntesla66 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    32
    Has anyone had a crash (kind of like "Wham! stomp stomp stomp @T1 position, drop tool") when cancelling a print job from the print paused position? I think it's hanging on the Z and skipping steps. Maybe the "paused" position should be moved out away from the tool line.
     
  2. Paul Arden

    Paul Arden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2019
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    59
    I haven't had this but I have had a case where it simply refused to pause at all and I had to do a reset instead. The other thing I am wondering is what is the best method for getting the tool off in those situations. So far homing C and holding the tool when it pops off is the only useful way I found.
     
  3. Andy Cohen

    Andy Cohen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    63
    I think Homing C is the only way. Which makes the Paneldue at the machine a problem since it cannot home C.
     
  4. blarbles

    blarbles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    68
    Yeah. I'm beginning to regret the Paneldue purchase. Maybe the way to go is Raspberry Pi with touch screen that points at the Duet web interface.
     
  5. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    483
    Can't it be coaxed by recompiling the source to achieve the requirement? It's always seemed like PanelDue support has been a distant second in importance to having the mainboard perform its job.
     
  6. Ntesla66

    Ntesla66 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    32
    Simply write a macro with "G28 C". I've a PanelDue on my FrankenPrinter but have not added one to this platform yet. I use it less than I thought I would but when I do, I use it for the pause/restart/cancel function and/or to move the print out of the way.
     
    mhe and Andy Cohen like this.
  7. Holten

    Holten Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    I created two macros to use on the PanelDue

    Home All
    Code:
    M98 Phomec.g			; Home C
    
    M98 Phomey.g			; Home Y
    
    M98 Phomex.g			; Home X
    
    M98 Phomez.g			; Home Z
    
    G1 X150 Y-50 F15000		; Park
    
    and Home C
    Code:
    M98 Phomec.g			; Home C
    
    Using the Home C macro is the only way I can get C to home correctly, whether it be from PanelDue or directly from the web interface.
     
  8. Holten

    Holten Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've noticed the pause function waits until it finishes a couple lines of gcode before it pauses. So if the printer is currently doing like a long, slow perimeter it will seem like it's just ignoring you.
     
  9. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    483
    If I have to stop a print, my key requirements are Home Y, then Home C. I'm tempted to setup some hardware buttons for Stop and this HomeY, HomeC step. Clearly pause and resume would also be good candidates.
     
  10. Paul Arden

    Paul Arden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2019
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    59
    In this case it wasn’t that, it even went through another toolchange after I had pressed the pause. I haven’t had it happen since though.
     

Share This Page