COMPLETE Chase's dual direct titan idex conversion

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by Björn, Mar 2, 2017.

  1. Westsidee

    Westsidee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    40
    Same thing here. I'll like to have options to add stuff later. I hopefully getting my tomorrow.
     
  2. Proto_BB

    Proto_BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    I went for the Duex2 to hopefully avoid some of the misery that comes with fitting new equipment into that confined space. That being said I have not fitted it yet.
     
  3. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    174
    I'm not 100% sure, but I think the Duex5 and Duex2 are both exactly the same size. The only difference is the price (and the components obviously ;))
     
  4. Proto_BB

    Proto_BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ha! I guess my plan has a fatal flaw.. incidentally my duex2 is quite small. Quite a lot smaller than I expected - which was a nice surprise.
     
  5. dc42

    dc42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    221
    The DueX2 and DueX5 are the same size as the Duet WiFi (123x100mm) but without the protruding WiFi antenna of course. A DueXn and a Duet WiFi or Duet Ethernet can be mounted back-to-back to save space.
     
  6. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    174
    After weeks of planning, printing, building and adjusting I can finally say that my IDEX build is ready.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    This is my setup with the Duet WiFi and the Duex5. I had some difficulties with the fans in combination with the extruders. Because in the past I blew up FAN1 on the Duet WiFi board (shortcut because the wires of the fan touched the hotend and melted the isolation), I had to move some fan connectors to the Duex5.

    Currently the fan connectors are connected like this:
    P0 = Print cooling fan of T0
    P1 = not used (broken)
    P2 = not used (maybe broken)
    P3 = Extruder fan of T1
    P4 = Extruder fan of T0
    P5 = Print cooling fan of T1

    I had the trigger temperatures of the exrtuder fans set like this:
    M106 P4 S1 I0 F10 H1 T40 ; Trigger hotend 1 (left) fan at 40 C
    M106 P3 S1 I0 F10 H2 T40 ; Trigger hotend 2 (right)fan at 40 C


    And the Tools setup like this:

    ; *** Tool (Extruder) Definitions
    ; *** Define tool 0
    M563 P0 D0 H1 X0 F0:4 ; Define tool 0 (Left extruder) as using drive 0 and heater 1
    G10 P0 X0 Y0 Z0 ; Set tool 0 axis offsets
    G10 P0 S0 R0 ; Set tool 0 operating and standby temperatures to zero celsius

    ; *** Define tool 1
    M563 P1 D1 H2 X3 F3:5 ; Define tool 1 (Right extruder) as using drive 1 and heater 2
    G10 P1 U-16.35 Y-16.55 Z0 ; Set tool 1 axis offsets
    G10 P1 S0 R0 ; Set tool 1 operating and standby temperatures to zero celsius


    If I understand correctly, this will use fan 0 and 4 for T0 and 3 and 5 for T1. The strange thing is, was that when the print cooling fan of T0 was triggered, the hotend fan of T1 would stop. At first I didn't notice this, until extrustion of T1 became irregular because the PTFE tube became clogged.

    I finally solved the issue by omitting the Fx:y command in the tool definitions (M563). All fans are now functioning as expected.

    One minor thing to solve is the tfree and tpost behavior. I used the tfree0.g and tpost0.g from the Duet site

    Code:
    tfree0.g
    
    M83               ; relative extruder movement
    G1 E-1.5 F3600         ; retract 2mm
    G91                            ; relative axis movement
    G1 Z3 F500                ; up 3mm
    G90                            ; absolute axis movement
    G1 S2 X-23 F6000     ; park the X carriage at -23mm
    Code:
    tpost0.g
    
    M116 P0                    ; wait for tool 0 heaters to reach operating temperature
    M83                            ; relative extruder movement
    G1 E1.5 F3600          ; extrude 1.5mm
    
    In line three of tfree0.g the bed is lowered 3mm. Now for some reason the bed would not raise after a tool change, causing the print to start in mid-air. How did the other builders solve this ?
     
  7. Björn

    Björn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    188
    Must be something to do with relative and absolute distances messing up somewhere, perhaps in the slicer scripts? here is my tfree0.g anyway (adjust accordingly for tool1)

    M83 ; relative extruder movement
    G1 E-2 F3600 ; retract 2mm
    G91 ; relative axis movement
    G1 Z3 F500 ; up 3mm
    G90 ; absolute axis movement
    G1 S2 X-23.5 F6000 ; park the X carriage at -23.5mm

    And the tpost0.g
    G1 X-5 Y240 F6000 ; move back
    G1 X78 Y240 F6000 ; move to dock
    M116 P0 ; wait for tool 0 heaters to reach operating temperature
    M83 ; relative extruder movement
    G1 F75 ; set feedrate 75mm/min
    G1 E10 ; extrude 10mm
    G1 F50 ; set feedrate 50mm/min
    G1 E5 ; extrude 5mm
    G1 F3600 ; set feedrate 3600mm/min
    G1 E-1.5 ; retract 1.5mm
    G1 X78 Y200 F6000 ; wiping movement
    G1 X78 Y240 F6000 ; wiping movement
    G1 X78 Y200 F6000 ; wiping movement

    (I have had some strange extruding speeds during prime from time to time, that is why I have extruding speeds in this (does not seem to help anyway)

    I use no layer change, retraction or tool change script at all in S3D, those tabs are blank

    Starting script looks like this for now (differs a little if left, right or both heads are used, uncomment suitable lines)
    (Tool10, 11 and 15 are artifacts I never use)
    Extruder 4 and extruder 5 are used for standby temps (set them up in temperature tab with temperature identifier 4 and 5)

    ; BigBox DX Start Script Begin

    ; relies on M83 (use relative extrusion distances)

    T-1

    M117 Preparing

    M140 S[bed0_temperature] ; set bed temperature

    G10 P0 S0 ;

    G10 P1 S0;

    G10 P0 R0 ;

    G10 P1 R0 ;

    ;G10 P15 R180 S0 ;

    ;T15

    :T-1

    ; home

    G28

    G29 S1

    G91 ; relative positioning

    G1 Z5 F360 ; move Z axis by 5mm

    G90 ; absolute positioning

    ; move to heating position

    G1 X78 U329.5 Y200 F6000

    G1 X78 U329.5 Y240 F6000

    ; heat bed

    M190 S[bed0_temperature] ; wait for bed temperature

    ; set tool temperatures

    G10 P0 S[extruder0_temperature] ;

    ;G10 P1 S[extruder1_temperature] ;

    G10 P0 R[extruder4_temperature] ;

    ;G10 P1 R[extruder5_temperature] ;

    ;G10 P10 R[extruder0_temperature] S[extruder0_temperature] ;

    ;G10 P11 R[extruder1_temperature] S[extruder1_temperature] ;

    ;T1

    T0

    M117 Print starting

    ;BigBox Dual Titan Start Script End
     
    Rob Heinzonly likes this.
  8. Jaysen DAYDREAMn

    Jaysen DAYDREAMn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have printed all of the 3d printed parts and the last of the additional bits should be here Monday.

    Can I make this work with rumba w/ pi and octoprint or should i really make the jump to Duet?

    Can anyone give me a list of what parts I would need to convert to duet?


    Thank you!
     
  9. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    174
    @Björn : Thanks ! See what I can do with your script to solve my issue.

    @Jaysen DAYDREAMn : Apart from the DuetWifi and the Duex2 or 5 I would advise to buy a screen also. It makes your life a whole lot easier. Furthermore you need a bracket to mount your boards in the printer. I do remember someone posted stl-files in this thread.
     
  10. Hugofitz

    Hugofitz Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm hoping to make this work with Rumba, I've got 90% of the parts printed and ordered. Rumba works with the Bowden IDEX by Greg so I can't see any reason as to why we can't get it to work with this design?
     
    #230 Hugofitz, May 9, 2017
    Last edited: May 9, 2017
  11. Folkert Kaman

    Folkert Kaman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    42
    I got it working with the Rumba, so it is possible.
     
    Hugofitz likes this.
  12. Folkert Kaman

    Folkert Kaman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    42
    See my earlier post for the firmware to get it working with the Rumba.
     
    Hugofitz likes this.
  13. Jaysen DAYDREAMn

    Jaysen DAYDREAMn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thank you guys so much.. @Folkert Kaman I will give this a shot with the rumba first as I really like octoprint and the camera.

    If I end up going with duetwifi and the duetx5 and the 7" panel... do i need the pt100 daughter board?
     
  14. Stian Indal Haugseth

    Stian Indal Haugseth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    100
    Yes, you need the Duet PT100 board for Duet Wifi.
     
  15. Westsidee

    Westsidee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    40
    Finaly I had some time to install Duet3D with t100 board, Duex5, 7" screen and BL touch. Now it's just the matter of cofiguring it all.

    Anyone in here with simular working setup who don't mind sharing their Duet config files?
     
    #235 Westsidee, May 14, 2017
    Last edited: May 14, 2017
  16. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    174
    Here you are. Be aware that you have to adjust some things (like stepper directions and fan pins). I still have issues with the tfree and tpost files (z-axis won't move down after tool change), hence the extra z-axis-down lines in the tpost files. I know some users have it working without them, so you may have to move them in order to get your machine working.
     

    Attached Files:

    • sys.zip
      File size:
      8.5 KB
      Views:
      19
  17. Westsidee

    Westsidee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    40
    thanks a lot!

    Do you use BL touch?
     
  18. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    174
    No, I'm still using IR. BL touch settings can be found in this thread...somewhere...
     
  19. Westsidee

    Westsidee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    40
    OK I found them.

    Did you do something special with extruder wiring? I have the pancake motors. And When I try to extrude they just vibrate. Don't drive at all. :-/
     
  20. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    174
    @Westsidee : no, nothing special. Just followed the color code according to the instructions of the Duet Wifi documents. I have one pancake and one motor that is slightly more powerful (for the Volcano).
     

Share This Page