E3D V6 ultimaker 2 upgrade

Discussion in 'E3D-v6 and Lite6' started by orph, Nov 18, 2016.

1. orph

orph Member

Hi.

I was trying to change hotend of ultimaker 2 to e3d v6 but it went horrible wrong. I would like to get some feedback what possible went wrong and what can I do right next time.

Guide I used is this: http://wiki.e3d-online.com/wiki/E3D-v6_on_Ultimaker_2

My first problem was that ultimaker was unable to read new heat sensor. So I uploaded .hex but problem persisted. So I connected ultimaker to computer and uploaded marlin. Still ultimaker was unable to read heat sensor so I called it a day and went to sleep.

Next day I studied a bit and noticed heat sensor was 100k so I figured out my error was using wrong settings. So I changed settings and connected again but windows told me board is malfunctioned. A bit baffled I studied case and indeed board was going strange. It longer was not able to read z switch (I had to press it multiple times). I checked all cables but everything is correctly connected.

So my question is can firmware update break ultimaker 2 board? All files I used were from that guide. Another incident which may break board was that I connected power cable to board when power switch was on. But it should not be that fragile.

Im not really angry about broken board, you can buy a new from China with 70£, but I want to understand what went wrong and what I can do better next time, and the most important: does that guide have errors.

Thank you for replies.

2. orph

orph Member

Really no-one is interested?

3. mike01hu

mike01hu Well-Known Member

I will assume that you have adjusted the firmware for the type of sensor you have and that the sensor is not the type that needs an amplifier.

There has been some discussion about communication failures with Windows elsewhere and it may be that the loader code became corrupted on the board. It can be reloaded but I do not know the method, so search the forum.

4. Alex9779

Alex9779 Moderator