End stop cable to... nowhere?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by blarbles, Aug 17, 2019.

  1. blarbles

    blarbles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    64
    In wiring, step 55 blue endstop cable - is this no longer used or did I do something very wrong?
     
  2. blarbles

    blarbles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    64
    Nevermind, I see it disconnected in one of the pictures.
     
  3. orcinus

    orcinus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    113
    Good point, though.

    What was that meant for?
    A T-bar endstop?
     
  4. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    622
    It's there if you want to add a tool-detect switch to the toolhead.
     
    mhe likes this.
  5. orcinus

    orcinus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    113
    Does RRF support conditionals of some sort?
    How would one go about using it programmatically?
     
  6. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    622
    RRF has some clever settigns which can denote what happens when an endstop is triggered. in the case of the tool-detect switch you can have it turned on and off at different points in the script and also change it's behavior. Depending on how you have it configured you can have the print pause whenever the tool-detect endstop is not in the expected state.

    I can't remember the exact code, maybe @dc42 can elaborate for us :)
     
    mhe and orcinus like this.
  7. BrendonBuilds

    BrendonBuilds Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    6
    A tool detection switch is worth the effort. I currently have the switch on the toolhead wired up as a filament sensor. If there is no tool present, the print will pause. In my experience, the tool head detection is more effective to determine 'is there a tool' versus 'is the tool missing'. I think it is due to the way the filament sensor is integrated to the software while 'no tool is currently selected'.

    Regardless, you can enable tool detection with M591. I enable tool detection as the last line in TpostN.g, then disable it in the first line of TfreeN.g. An example for T3:


    enable (TpostN.g):
    disable (TfreeN.g):

    At the end of the day: if you don't have a tool you likely either missed a step or some sort of interference knocked the extruder out of the parked position. If your print paused due to a dropped tool, I'd recommend re-homing x and y.
     
    orcinus likes this.
  8. orcinus

    orcinus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ideally, it'd be awesome if more advanced scripting were possible and you could, for example, rehome C and retrigger the tool pickup macro if tool pickup fails. But yeah, even tying it in place of a filament runout sensor could be useful.

    I've never had a tool coupling fail in the middle of a print, though.
     
  9. dc42

    dc42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    206
    Conditional command support is coming to RepRapFirmware 3 soon.
     
    orcinus likes this.
  10. orcinus

    orcinus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    113
    Woah! That will be awesome!
     

Share This Page