SOLVED Error: Failed to autodetect serial port, please set it manually

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by Irawan Tri Kusumo, Jul 27, 2016.

  1. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
    I am trying to install Raspberry Pi3 and Octoprint 0.13 on my Printer. Installing the Octoprint is successful without any errors. When connecting the pi to RUMBA the Serial Port only has option "AUTO", and when I am trying to connect it, it gives me error:

    Error: Failed to autodetect serial port, please set it manually

    Any idea how to fix it ? I have searched for some solutions, but I still have no idea and no solutions to fix it.

    Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 18.50.16.png
     
  2. TimV

    TimV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    26
    Give your RPi a reboot
    Under Serial, it should popup as /dev/ttyACM0 (or something very close to it - depends on the USB port used (between the RPI and the Rumba.)
     
  3. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
    @TimV , then how can I add it manually ? Is that just put it in the Setting Menu (on OctoPrint Web Interface) ?
     
  4. TimV

    TimV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    26
    you can't add it manually, all settings on Auto and you should be good to go.
    If not, check your cabling, Usb (from the front ports!)
     
  5. TimV

    TimV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    26
    The blue cable!
    RPI Side
    [​IMG]
    The Rumba side
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ah, I see.. so the port location is important... Let me check it tomorrow since the printer is in the office. @TimV, thank you for the help.
     
  7. TimV

    TimV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    26
    No, the port location on the RPI doesn't really matter, as long as it's a front port (side is only to power it - No data/communication)
     
  8. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
  9. TimV

    TimV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    26
    I can ensure you, it works out of the box, immediately with Rumba (and ramps1.4).
    Check if your USB cable works by connecting your RPI sided USB connector in your PC, and try to connect via S3D (or whatever other steering application you use(d))
    If that works also, ... dazzles me, bad RPI? try perhaps another USB port, you never know.
     
  10. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    If you connect your printer which is powered on then there *MUST* be at least one additional item to select...
    "AUTO" is just scanning the connected ports if the are more for a printer.
    If there are no other ports list in the drop down then "AUTO" won't work either...
     
  11. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ok, maybe I need to explain a bit more. Actually I have RPI2 inside the printer that is working perfectly. I want to replace the RPI2 to RPI3 which I think faster and has WIFI already. I install fresh OctoPrint (0.13) on RPI3, everything (Octoprint only) is working, without connecting to the printer yet.
    Now, time to connect to the RUMBA, it can't connect it as i describe above. Because of my laziness, I did not open the bottom cover, I just power my RPI3 via USB power (not the DC to DC board that came with BB). and connect the RPI3 USB port to RUMBA USB.
    My Question: Do I have to power the RPI3 from RUMBA-DCtoDC board ? I just want to make sure which actually I think it does not matter.
     
  12. TimV

    TimV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    26
    That's what I also do, as I build all the parts of the OctoPrint myself.
    So, no DC-DC convertor, but direct power from an 1A USB charger.

    I'll have a try later today to see if it works on an RPi3, but I see little reason why is shouldn't.

    Brings me back to bad cable, bad cable connection (seating) or 'a silly thing you forgot' like powering on the print itself,....
    Go forward with eliminating piece-by-piece and report back :)
     
  13. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks for the tips, will try tomorrow replacing the cable with all my stock, and changing the port too.

    yes yes.. try it with rpi3... i want to know the result.
     
  14. TimV

    TimV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    26
    Rpi3 confirmation that it works, just like as an Rpi2
     
  15. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
    @TimV, which version of OctoPrint are you using ?
     
  16. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
    OK, Solved. I feel like an idiot. it is the cable :( I used the same cable to transfer data, and it works. But not with pi <-> rumba. I don't know why, it is a mystery :confused:
     

Share This Page