Extruder gets to 100C and gives Heating Failed Error

Discussion in 'Build Help' started by Chase.Wichert, Mar 3, 2016.

  1. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    I am trying to test the extruder, and it stops at 100c and says heating failed.... Any Ideas?
     
  2. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Just tried on Extruder 2 and it failed 93C...
     
  3. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    Have you checked the connections are not lose?
     
  4. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Nothing seems loose...
     
  5. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    No fans on blowing at the hotends other than the hotend heatsink fan?
     
  6. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Nope, it seems to take a very long time for it to heat up, are the hot end fans supposed to be on full blast?
     
  7. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    yup they are always on full.

    I know I mentioned the wires before, did you check the input from the PSU at the time too?
     
  8. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Yup, those are good. It starts off heating well, going up about 2c every refresh and then it really starts to slow down around 80c
     
  9. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    can you unplug one of the hotends from the rumba and have another go?
     
  10. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trying it now, I was only doing one hotend at a time. I am uploading a video to youtube to show you how it is heating up. Will post the link when it is finished.
     
  11. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    This didn't work.
     
  12. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207

    This is how it heats up, not sure if it will help or not
     
  13. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    Try with the bed not heating to 120 ?
     
  14. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Just tried it with only nozzle 1, nothing else and same thing.
     
  15. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    What about just heating the nozzle and not using the presets?

    You can set the temperature via the control menu.
     
  16. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Yup, did that and same thing. Would upgrading the firmware help at all?
     
  17. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    My only other thought is have you not assembled the hotend correctly? A firmware upgrade shouldnt help, the PIDs that are in there by default too will definitely heat it up okay too.
     
  18. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    There really isn't a good way to mess up the hotend... It looks just like manual... The heater and the PID are clamped in very securely... I don't understand... The fact that it is both of them makes me think it is something else...

    Maybe the PT100 PCB's aren't reading it correctly... I'll tape a thermocouple to it to see what temperature that is reading...
     
  19. Mike Kelly

    Mike Kelly Volunteer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    89
    Does it read ambient conditions correctly? Set screw holding the PT100 snuggly in place?

    May be worth reading the resistance of the PT100 as well to see where the issue lies. Would be especially beneficial at "temperature"
     
  20. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    They are tight, and it reads 18C ambient which is what my house is. I'll measure the resistance when I get home. This is frustrating.
     

Share This Page