Extruder Motor on 2nd Hot End Turns wrong way, initially

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by goose117, Mar 13, 2016.

1. goose117

goose117 Member

I've been dealing with this all day...

After a reset, when I execute this:

M83
    G92 E3
    G1 E10 F200

The motor turns backwards, until I execute this:

G1 E-1 F200

It turns backwards 1mm (as it should). Then when I execute this:

G1 E10 F200

It turns forward, as it should.

Is this a known bug?

2. Paul Seccombe

Paul Seccombe Well-Known Member

3. goose117

goose117 Member

Yea, it's driving me up the wall. It only happened when I did a full reset of the Rumba board as well, some kind of initialization issue. My work around currently has a -0.1 extrusion before the purging to make sure it's going to turn correctly.

4. Alex9779

Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

I see the same issue on my machine... Investigating...

5. Springfield-Jack

Springfield-Jack Well-Known Member

Have had similar issues when extruding from OctoPrint! The Gcode is correct but the behavior is reversed?The wipe before printing has started to crash the back wall and the actual wipe maneuver is reversed even after resetting offsets?Very strange!

6. Alex9779

Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

Ok I tried with the RCBugFix branch of Marlin, same issue...

7. Alex9779

Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

As far as I can tell this must be a Marlin issue... The problem is not only when you send gcodes manually with OctoPrint but also if you only heat up the nozzle and do a move axis from the menu...

All I found on the Github Marlin repo was this comment on an issue:
    https://github.com/MarlinFirmware/Marlin/issues/3083#issuecomment-195152067

Think we gotta file a new issue describing our problem. Maybe with an excerpt of our Configuration.h that we have E0 inverted and E1 is not inverted. Maybe the issue is connected to that...

Who will do it?

8. Greg Holloway

Greg Holloway Administrator