failed print coated hotend. Max temp

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by KNM3D, Jul 13, 2017.

  1. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    so i had a print fail it coated the hotend with plastic,
    i heated up the hotend at lunch to 300 to get the glob to loosen so i could slowly take it off..
    tried to salvage the hot end no go.
    ended up ripping out the pt100.
    got everything back so i could try to print replacement parts and such with my second hotend.
    since i have a dual i plugged and extra pt100 into the connector so it could read both temps for both hotends.
    im getting a max temp error. but everything is hooked back up right.

    any ideas of why it wont get out of max temp error even though i have the pt100 in place and such.

    thankyou in advance,
    Ryan M.
     
  2. Old_Tafr

    Old_Tafr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    78
    #2 Old_Tafr, Jul 13, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2017
  3. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    I don't see how crossed wires could be the issue, the printer was doing absolutly fin until this failed print ,glib thing happened
     
  4. John_e3d

    John_e3d Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you give me a better idea of your current set-up? Under what conditions is the PT-100 failing?
     
  5. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    im getting max temp error and everything is reading Zeros.
    I have hooked up new PT100 just to see if that helps.
    still no dice.
     
  6. John_e3d

    John_e3d Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What printer do you have? Do you use a separate amplification board, or is integrated into your main board?
     
  7. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    i have a big box dual that i use as just a single head printer,(so i just use the very left extruder for printing)
    the main board is a bigbox dual board.
    yes each PT-100 has its own amplification board.

    it would be really nice to know whats going on with this so i can get the printer back up.
    it is vital i get this running.
    im thinking i just need a new main board.
    but that means i would have to set the new board back up correct?
     
  8. John_e3d

    John_e3d Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, but I've been away for over a week. If you're still experiencing the same problem, I would test for broken wires and faulty components. You may, for example, have a faulty amplification board, pt100 or main board. You can test to see what works on what port. Let me know if you've already changed the board, or the issue has otherwise gone.
     
  9. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    waiting on new main board,
    hope it fixes it. because it would be nice to have this guy up and running again soon.
    and in my area in south Dakota, I don't know of anyone who could help me get this done faster.

    so we will just have to see.

    here's hoping
     
  10. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have the main board, I just have no idea what im doing. so it just sits next to the printer in its anti static bag. :-(
     
  11. Old_Tafr

    Old_Tafr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    78
    Did you build the BigBox yourself? Just checking what build experience you have.
     
  12. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did build it from scratch.
    im actually pissed I purchased a dual when I only needed a single. :mad:
    so now I need to print the single carriage parts
     
  13. mike01hu

    mike01hu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    166
    I'm a bit mystified as to why you needed a new mother board. Your original problem was that you had a failure during a print that clogged your hot-end, which you then switched to the second hot-end. In the process you damaged the PT100 and you said that you replaced it, so a few more questions:

    1. Did you use a PT100 or is it a simple thermistor module? If the latter you will get this error.
    2. Did you check the continuity of the wiring to the PT100 board.
    3. Did you tell the slicer which hot-end you are using?
     
  14. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    yes I used a new pt 100.
    not sure how to check the continuity, take a multi meter and do what with it?(don't want to assume anything)
    yes my slicer has the right hot end selected. but if im throwing this error the second I turn the printer on this would have no affect on anything, until im ready to print, but yes I did pic the right hotend.
     
  15. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    so how and what do I check on the pt100 board to see if that is the issue?
     
  16. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    so how and what do I check on the pt100 board to see if that is the issue?
    I would really not throw the big box in the garbage.
    its pretty much one of the worst non backed (by the company who made it) purchases ive made.

    I was hoping one of the guys from E3D would chime in and help at some point.

    kinda more frustrated at this than I should be.
     
  17. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    ok so i have the bottom off the printer. what should i start looking at to diagnose the origin of my problem?
    multi meter on what? when doing what?
    where do i start that is my question.
     
  18. Ephemeris

    Ephemeris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    222
    I'd disconnect the PT100 leads from both of the little E3D signal conditioner boards and measure the resistance of the PT100 leads. At room temperature I'd expect something around 108 ohms.

    Just to be clear, you have two PT100 sensors and each is connected to a different PT100 board?
     
  19. Old_Tafr

    Old_Tafr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    78
    And to add to this you may be looking for bad connections if you have any joins or connectors in the wires all the way to the sensor.

    You could also have a bad connection as the wires enter the sensor as this is where they get a lot of stress where they are bent fitting the sensor into the heat block. They also get a lot of stress if you are removing the sensor from the heat block or simply removing the whole assembly to fix a problem with the extruder assembly = heat sink, heat break, heater block, nozzle.
     
  20. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    6
    yes i have two sensors and each is connected to a different pt100 board
     

Share This Page