SOLVED Firmware problem

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by Matt, Jul 5, 2016.

  1. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I previously managed to get firmware updater working. I have finished building all the parts for chases dual direct. K tried to update the firmware with alexes from jenkins. The updater said that there was a comms error and timed out. Now ghe bigbox doesnt respond and the screen is blank. It seems that the firmware was removed but no new firmware uploaded. I have tried sgain multiple times and get the same. Any thoughts?

    In the terminal i get
    • Connecting to: /dev/ttyACM0
      Changing monitoring state from 'Offline' to 'Opening serial port'
      Connected to: Serial<id=0x71eee1b0, open=True>(port='/dev/ttyACM0', baudrate=230400, bytesize=8, parity='N', stopbits=1, timeout=10.0, xonxoff=False, rtscts=False, dsrdtr=False), starting monitor
      Changing monitoring state from 'Opening serial port' to 'Connecting'
      Send: N0 M110 N0*125
      Recv: �8�8�8�8�x�x�8�x�x�8�x�x�8�x�x�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�x�x�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�x�8�8�x�8�8AVRISP_2tAVRISP_2tISP_AVRIS
     
  2. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    With what are you flashing?
     
  3. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    With what method, from Windows/Mac/Linux host connected to USB, OctoPi with command line or OctoPrint plugin...
     
  5. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am copying the linkninto the update from url box. I have the check firware unticked also
     
  6. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using the octopi firmware updater plugin
     
  7. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    So OctoPrint plugin it is...
    Could you try with the command line? Download the file and push it to the RPi or directly download it on the RPi with 'wget' and then flash with avrdude from the command line with the command I wrote in the flashing guide?
     
  8. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will give that a go. Cheers
     
  9. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    really daft question, how do I stop octoprint?
     
  10. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    sudo service octoprint stop
     
  11. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks. I am not ofay with raspberry pi!

    I am getting this error

    pi@octopi:~ $ /usr/bin/avrdude -C/etc/avrdude.conf -vpatmega2560 -cwiring -P/dev/ttyACM0-Uflash:w:/home/pi/Fir mware/Marlin.RC_Titan_MBL.hex:i

    avrdude: Version 6.1, compiled on Jul 7 2015 at 10:29:47
    Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
    Copyright (c) 2007-2014 Joerg Wunsch

    System wide configuration file is "/etc/avrdude.conf"
    User configuration file is "/home/pi/.avrduderc"
    User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

    Using Port : /dev/ttyACM0-Uflash:w:/home/pi/Firmware/Marlin.RC_Titan_MBL.hex:i
    Using Programmer : wiring
    avrdude: ser_open(): can't open device "/dev/ttyACM0-Uflash:w:/home/pi/Firmware/Marlin.RC_Titan_MBL.hex:i": No such file or directory
    ioctl("TIOCMGET"): Invalid argument
    ioctl("TIOCMGET"): Invalid argument
    vrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
    vrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
    vrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
    vrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
    vrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
    vrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
    avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer

    avrdude done. Thank you.
     
  12. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Think you forgot a space before "-Uflash..." in that last command still not finding the file but I think this is not your problem it seems you boor loader got damaged...
     
  13. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    First try to get the command line right so not "file not found" error occurs.
    If then the other error is still there I think you have to try this http://reprap.org/wiki/RUMBA#USB_connection_.28Writing_in_progress.29
    The last option is to use an external programmer to flash the bootloader, if you have access to one... If not time to call support...
     
  14. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    oo hang on, the space may have been the issue... Let me check the machine. Thanks for your help! I will let you know in a jiffy
     
  15. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Just a hint: don't shoot screens of your whole desktop and post them without reviewing them... I can see your Outlook... And not only me...
     
  16. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    all seems to be back up and running now, so many many thanks! Not quite sure why i messed it up in the first place, but nevermind.
     
  17. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for hint, post deleted!
     
  18. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    No problem... That's what we here for. I don't know exactly with what options the OctoPrint plugin but it seems that in some cases the direct command line is better....
     
  19. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Agreed, I know the first time I used the octopi plugin I had to flash a couple of times to get it to work. This seems easy enough (as long as I can type!)
     
  20. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    For me the plugin worked for a couple of weeks without an issue... Must be some special circumstances when issues occur... I remember when I had a similar problem like you getting weird symbols on connect. I flashed a different firmware than before, thin I wanted to have Dual and flashed Pro and then the Dual which I wanted. This fixed it for me...
     

Share This Page