From RRF2 to RRF3 on Duet2 WiFI

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by CrazyCreator, Dec 23, 2019.

  1. CrazyCreator

    CrazyCreator Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    9
    Has anyone already made this update and adjusted the config accordingly?

    Would be nice if someone could upload it, then you would have a starting point to look at and try.
     
    Nibbels likes this.
  2. dc42

    dc42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    200
    I will upload mine when I have done some more testing.
     
    mhe, Aluminati and Nibbels like this.
  3. CrazyCreator

    CrazyCreator Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    9
    I can't wait
     
  4. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    #5 Nibbels, Jan 11, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
  5. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    #6 Nibbels, Jan 11, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2020
  6. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    Well: I once tempered with the mA in X and Y:
    M906 X1850 Y1850 Z1330 C400 E1680:1680:1680:1680 I30 ; Set motor currents (mA) and motor idle factor in percent
    ; XY original was 2000mA
    Screenshot_4.jpg
    :p
    Note: I really should insert plain multiples of 100mA values here (- to have a clean configuration).
     
  7. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
  8. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    #9 Nibbels, Jan 11, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
  9. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    #10 Nibbels, Jan 11, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
  10. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/RepRapFirmware_3_overview#Section_M305

    && https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Gcode#Section_M308_Set_or_report_sensor_parameters
    && https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Gcode#Section_M950_Create_heater_fan_or_GPIO_servo_pin
    && https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Gcode#Section_M106_Fan_On

    @config.g

    We have to redefine all heaters, sensors and fans.
    I got my bed working with that:
    Screenshot_20.jpg

    But the Tools are still not working. I have the tools set and see the temps but the tool T0 which I already have connected as hardware does not heat up. I will progress here another day.
     
    #11 Nibbels, Jan 11, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2020
  11. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    #12 Nibbels, Jan 11, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
  12. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    Enough for today.

    Screenshot_22.png
    The second thing I still miss is the Heaters name at the Bed-Tool. I set it to A"Bed" but it doesnt show. Only in the upper right section.
    I collect my progress in https://github.com/Nibbels/e3d-toolchanger-config
    But I will probably rearange the commits later when I know where this goes.

    > But carefull, dont just download and use this files: I changed the steppers connections to other ports ;) Please wait for DC42s files
     
  13. yngndrw

    yngndrw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    15
    I just attempted the conversion today but sadly didn't see this thread until I had finished. Here's my configs. (Commented out all of the tools except T0 as I only have the one, but in theory they should work) The tool changer seems to work correctly with that one tool.

    Please note that the Duet 2 Wifi heater outputs should not be inverted, this is quite confusing in the documentation and in my first attempt the tool heater was on when it shouldn't be - Fortunately I had commented the bed heater out to confirm that the tool heater was working first.

    I did notice some odd stuff in the homing scripts, for example the homex and homey scripts disable the x axis limit switch at the end. I translated this from the E3D example as is, so it might be worth confirming the correct behaviour.

    No warranty, your house may burn down, etc etc.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Paul Meyer

    Paul Meyer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks for working through this, folks. Reading through the posts and links here, I realize I should stick with 3.0 (got there accidentally, see my other thread). The changes seem pretty straightforward and this will force me to walk through all the gcode (good practice anyway).

    Fixed up all the sys/home* files and the config.g endstop changes. I can now successfully home x/y/z/c. Enough for tonight, it moves!
     
  15. dc42

    dc42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    200
    Here are my /sys files for RRF3 on a TC with Duet 2 electronics and 4 Titan bowden extruders.

    This is what I changed. First, things that are necessary for RRF3:
    • Replaced M305 commands by M308 commands
    • Added M950 commands to create fans and heaters
    • Changed the M558 command to specify the pin name for the Z probe
    Next, changes that are recommended or required for RRF3 and also recommended for RRF2:
    • Quoted the filename argument in all M98 commands
    • In the homing files, replaced the S parameters in G1 commands by H parameters
    Finally, changes not related to RRF3 at all:
    • Added F parameters to M563 commands, so that the correct tool fan is selected automatically on a tool change
    • Removed the M106 commands in the tpost files
    • Use G30 to home Z instead of using a G1 H1 move
    That's all I remember doing, but I may have missed something. As always, use with caution and be ready to turn off the power if something seems to be going wrong.
     

    Attached Files:

    #16 dc42, Jan 14, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2020
    Olle Wreede, Nibbels, yngndrw and 2 others like this.
  16. dc42

    dc42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    200
    Here's another set of RRF3 files. This one is set up so that the centre of the bed is X0 Y0. I set up all my printers this way so that GCode is (mostly) portable between them,
     

    Attached Files:

    mhe likes this.
  17. yngndrw

    yngndrw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thank you this David, I've only had a quick look through so far (Mainly around the centre zero version - I think I'll try that setup myself) and have found a couple of things:
    1. The macros are not included and the "Home XYZ" macro provided by E3D also includes a park command, so that needs updating if the centre of the bed is used.
    2. In the prime.g script, the "run out" position hasn't been updated for the centre zero location.
    3. The bed thermistor is configured (As it is in the E3D configurations) differently to the hot-end thermistors, however the heat bed documentation suggests that the bed is using a "104-GT2" thermistor - The same as the hot-end thermistor cartridge.
    4. The homeall.g and tfree2.g scripts both include M98 lines without quotes.
    5. There is a "G1 S2" in both the bed.g and pause.g scripts.
    6. Mesh compensation is not not disabled with "G29 S2" in cancel.g, but it is in the E3D configurations and I think it probably makes sense to do so if a job is cancelled by the user?
    7. The "A" parameter for the "M308" line in config.g is incorrect for tool 3.
    8. The coupler stepper motor has changed to 16x microstepping, but the min/max for this axis is still 0:500.
     
    #18 yngndrw, Jan 14, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
    Nibbels likes this.
  18. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    Thx!

    Yes the A"T0" is wrong on T3. I fixed it on my side.
    About the coupler stepper: The steps/mm are doubled so it should not affect the axis?

    I also tried to get some working C-Stalldetect by inserting DC42s config but it still didnt. The servo is just spinning until the commanded steps are processed as previous.
     
  19. Nibbels

    Nibbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    I updated the firmware to: RepRapFirmware for Duet 2 WiFi/Ethernet 3.01-beta1 (2020-01-14b3)
    and the webcontrol to:
    Duet Web Control 2.0.6

    The bug with the missing Bed heater name seems to be fixed.

    Thank you!
     

Share This Page