IDEAS Front Bar with LED

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by Irawan Tri Kusumo, Jul 29, 2016.

  1. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
  2. Hans C.

    Hans C. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    43
    Good you were able to drill the acrylic without cracking it. I'll definitely be taking my own suggestion and installing LEDs on my X-brace.

    Hey, clean up those messy wires, will you? ;)
     
  3. Stian Indal Haugseth

    Stian Indal Haugseth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    95
    I have made several holes with regular HSS drill bits (new and sharp). Starting with a small size and working my way up to the target size. Not adding any pressure and just letting it slowly carve a hole. No issues yet.
     
  4. Stian Indal Haugseth

    Stian Indal Haugseth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    95
    I've had plans a while now doing the same. But I'm looking for a sizable aluminium profile with a good angle for LED as brace.
     
  5. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
    I think the wire will be like that until I figure it out how to control the relay from my OctoPrint, so I could turn it off and on the LEDs. Btw, I install the LED on 2 places, one is at X-brace, and the other one will be at the head.

    Just found one of the LED strip is dead (forgot to connect it :D)... so it should be brighter ....
     
  6. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
    One more thing, if you got GoPro, you could put it on too, so the time lapse will have a much better quality ... :D
     
  7. Hans C.

    Hans C. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    43
    Mine was just a stock 1-1/2" X 1-1/2" aluminum angle. For angling the LEDs and diffusing the light I'll be ordering from this page:

    http://www.leevalley.com/en/wood/page.aspx?p=71702&cat=1,43349

    Not cheap but top-notch quality, plus they have a store about 20 minutes from my place.
     
    Stian Indal Haugseth likes this.
  8. Stian Indal Haugseth

    Stian Indal Haugseth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    95
    Any of you tried a PWM dimmer on the LEDs? I have a bit much light but afraid to go buy a dimmer before I know it works. I'm afraid the shutter time on the camera will pick up the switching.
     
  9. Irawan Tri Kusumo

    Irawan Tri Kusumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    21
    No, I need it maximum bright, otherwise I just turn it off :D
     
  10. Stian Indal Haugseth

    Stian Indal Haugseth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    95
    My strips are pulling over 2A at 12V
     
  11. Hans C.

    Hans C. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    43
    To keep the nut traps from interfering with the X-brace, I devised & printed these simple (make that 'downright weenie') standoffs/spacers. I could just as easily have cut them out of 1/8" Baltic Birch plywood, but this seemed more appropriate somehow. I used black ABS at 100% infill, then drilled them to suit the new holes in the BB frame. They're practically invisible when installed, and allowed me to leave the existing nut traps in place while providing full contact for the X-brace.

    The standoffs are sized for my v1.1 BigBox, but could easily be altered to suit past & future versions.
     

    Attached Files:

    Stian Indal Haugseth likes this.
  12. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    322
    My new lights are coming from HE2, which is set to 12V and PWM-able via GCODE (M42 P6 S(0-255)). For me, this is currently working really well. 15 x 5050 at 4 locations set to half brightness is fine.
     
  13. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Same here. Even half brightness is really bright!
     
  14. JvdP

    JvdP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have 2 sets of 2 (12V) strips in parallel so 4 in total. Had a little too much light as well so bought a 8A dimmer on eBay. Works great!
     

Share This Page