Front power switch

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by Dr Jeep, Apr 14, 2016.

  1. Dr Jeep

    Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    169
    Just a word to anyone considering these.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/drivezero-ToughSwitch-Stainless-Weather-Waterproof/dp/B008BX4B3A

    Either I had a faulty one or it isn't up to the inrush current of the bigbox SMPSU but mine lasted for exactly one press before the contacts got stuck in the on position (switch action still works but has no effect on power status)

    Probably should have checked before drilling a 19mm hole in the front panel but I now effectively have a expensive power light :(
     
  2. Dr Jeep

    Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    169
    Actually I'll try another, set up a basic inrush current limit circuit and see if I can measure it. Has anyone else actually successfully used one of these on the BB without it failing ?
     
  3. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    125
  4. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
    Are you switching AC or DC 24v?

    I think it's over 20A (if you're switching the DC...)

    Have done nothing myself but was thinking of installing a relay next to the power supply so I could run lightweight cables and use a lightweight switch wherever I wanted a kill switch. That being said am so used to the quirks of the BB now killswitch situations don't seem to occur any more. ;-)
     
  5. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    125
    The power supply itself is 240V/2.8A or 110V/5.8A
    The witch can handle 240V/5A so that should not be the problem.
     
  6. Dr Jeep

    Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    169
    Switching AC, but just because the PSU is rated at 2.8A doesn't mean the inrush current on startup doesn't momentarily exceed that. Switch Mode Power supplies without active PFC have a dirty big cap after the bridge rectifier which tries to suck up all the power it can.
     
  7. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    125
    @Dr Jeep : You are probably right. Time will tell. If my new built in switch dies in the coming weeks we know enough I think ;)
    The I have to remove the base plate (again) and install a relay.
     
  8. Dr Jeep

    Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    169
    I've ordered another, I'll probably throw together a bit of a surge limit it's a hack but given the range between the rating for the PSU and the rating for the switch we should just about get away with it.
     
  9. Stefan

    Stefan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    43
    Yes these work great, the LED is good to see in daylight.
    Only thing is since the LED run on 230V (DE) it gets a little warm, not much but noticeable when touching it.
    bb with fromt power switch.jpg
     

Share This Page