Glass build plate woes

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by Chris Toast, May 10, 2016.

1. Chris Toast

Chris Toast Well-Known Member

Heed the warning, brothers and sisters!

I'm relatively new to 3d printing ownership, having completed my BB dual ex kit just two weeks ago and getting quite lucky with a great first print of that Benchy hello world object. Since then, I've been churning PLA test after test and having a blast doing it. I finally decided I was ready to try a big-boy material so I grabbed some of that fancy Protopasta branded PC-ABS "Alloy" from the Stretch box. After a few false starts getting the material dialed in, I was ready to print something with roughly 70x40mm contact space-a customized Y stepper bracket that would accommodate an AstroSyn dampener and reduce contact with the frame (reduce resonance). All that of course is irrelavent.

This seemed like the ideal material as all my quick tests seemed quite promising. I ran the filament at 165c and the bed at 125c. As the part was cooling down, I noticed a distinctly frightening series of clinking sounds- similar to when large cubes if ice are starting to crack as they get comfortable in a refreshment. This continued for a few minutes as we transitioned from about 100 to 80c on the bed.

Needless to say, the part released relatively easily with a basic lift tool-less so than efforts required to pull some of the PLA parts I was working on earlier. However, a sizeable area about 25mm by 6mm of glass was bonded to the part...post removal :(

So it leads to my point-otherwise quite happy. E3D said it this thing would kick ass, and it does. They also said it could handle all these wonderful materials-they even sent me some! Awesome. Except....now I and quite a few other owners are dealing with build surface failure.

However, theres mounting evidence that the build plate is an unresolved reliability issue that really has not seen its fair share of testing.