heat break loose in heatsink

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by R Design, Mar 5, 2016.

1. R Design

R Design Well-Known Member

Double posting from v6 forum which is not very active.

I'm new to the e3d hotend and the heat break seems to wobble in the heatsink.

I added a modest amount of thermal compound and screwed it in to the depth shown in the build manual (the end of the thread JUST visible at the edge of the heatsink).

This can't be right. What have I done wrong?

2. Trevor

Trevor Well-Known Member

Do you have a video? Hard to know without visual.

3. UlrichKliegis

UlrichKliegis Well-Known Member

Right side of the heatbreak coupler up?

Re: Forum attention: That's the general disadvantage and communicaiton stopper of all fine-granulated forum sites: People don't just acknowledge that there is a question the may have an answer to. I guess only few people like me and probably you have actively subscribed to all sub-topics of the E3D forum.
    I would vote for a global one stop topic subset where all threads are completely visible. Like in the G+-group but with the added value of searchability. It would still be possible to categorize the topics but keep them visible on one look.

4. R Design

If you touch the heat block then the heat break moves with respect to the heat sink.

The threads don't seem to fit tightly.

I couldn't have been given a heat break for another hot end?

5. Trevor

Trevor Well-Known Member

Unlikely. Unless somehow you got a 3mm heatsink or something. You should make a vid. Or the very least post some pictures.

6. Trevor

Trevor Well-Known Member

Same argument can be said the same for google+. It's always the same regular people who are social. I think as long as the E3D team makes it an effort to answer questions on here we'll be fine. Or if they close off google+ completely, people will be forced to 1 medium, this forum which will make this community even stronger.