Hi from Thirsk, North Yorkshire

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by JustinSB, Mar 5, 2018.

1. JustinSB

JustinSB Member

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to 3D printing, as I've been struggling with a Geeetech Prusa I3 Pro W since I got it in early December last year. It was/is a in need of a great deal of work to get it functional. The extruder is a total disaster, with slipping, grinding & so much skipping that it crashes the whole system. The X-axis & Y-axis backlash is horrible, & the Z-axis & its wobble exhibited every text book problem that seems to exist. Lots of other bits were out of alignment, & the stepper motor driver blew on my stock extruder - & all that was just in the first 6 or 7 weeks of trying to use it. Anyway, as a result, I am now well versed in editing & compiling Marlin. I have lovely new lead screws running my Z-axis on both sides & one of the fist print jobs when my new Titan & Lite6 combo arrive will be to print myself some linear bearings. Against all odds, I have actually had ball bearings fall out of the Geeetech LM8UU bearings & roll across my desk - when I took they-axis to pieces to have a look at why they were grinding so much. I know it cost very little to purchase this printer, but everything about it was way, way beyond a joke as so much of it is just so appallingly badly made.