Hotend PIDs & Marlin

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by rvator, Feb 25, 2017.

  1. rvator

    rvator Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am trying to tune the PIDs of my V6 Hotends but I am a little confused. First I run the autotune command via Repetier. Then I tansfer the new PID values via the M301 P.. I.. D.. command via repetier to the printer. If I check the parameter in the lcd-menue I find exact the transfered values there.

    But if a set the same values in configuration.h

    eg #define DEFAULT_Kp 5.0
    #define DEFAULT_Ki 0.50
    #define DEFAULT_Kd 50.0

    save and load the firmware I always find following values in the lcd-menue:

    PID-P 29.20
    PID-I 4.73
    PID-C 45.33

    independent of what I set in configuration .h

    I double checked if I edit the correct configuration.h and saved before compiling and uploading.

    I think I found the reason:

    Malrin RepRap Wiki:
    EEPROM

    If you have established known working PID constants, acceleration, and max-velocity settings for your own machine, you can set them, then store them in the EEPROM. On each boot-up, Marlin will automatically load these values from EEPROM, independent of what your compiled Configuration.h says.
     
    #1 rvator, Feb 25, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2017
  2. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
  3. rvator

    rvator Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello Greg,

    thank you for the tip. At the moment i switched off EEPROM usage (#define EEPROM_SETTINGS) for my test phase and set the parameters in the firmware.
     

Share This Page