How do I modify firmware for Pro?

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by buildabear, Jun 3, 2016.

1. buildabear

buildabear Member

From an update, proclamation of new firmware was posted. I am a noob and have a pro. I have no idea how to "edit and configure for pro". Is there some detailed instructions somewhere for beginners and non programmers?

2. Alex9779

Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Your question is legitimate. For now I can just point you to the Firmware Flashing Guide. I am preparing a page for the Wiki, but not yet finished writing everything.
    Also there are no "official" compiled firmware files released yet, we are working on that, so "the easy way" is not really available.

If you read the guide and want to flash something new, maybe because you have some issues, you can get ready compiled firmwares from https://jenkins.alitecs.de.

3. buildabear

buildabear Member

Looks like the firmwares available is for dual extruder set ups? I need one for the single direct extruder pro and not sure which parameters I have to modify for that to work.

4. Alex9779

Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

There are two for the Pro too on the build server. In the official repo all is configure for dual. You gotta go through the the comments and change things to match a Pro...

#4 Alex9779, Jun 3, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2016
  5. buildabear

buildabear Member

That is for Hybrid Pro though? I'm still on the old direct extruder without Titan. And I guess I'm too inexperienced to know what to change to match a Pro. Not a programmer. Guess I'm stuck with rc3 then.

6. Alex9779

Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

Hybrid or old Pro does not matter. Build volume is identical.
    All you gotta change is the E steps.
    Just note the E steps you have set now in the firmware and set the same number in the new one...

buildabear likes this.
  7. Alex9779

Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member