SOLVED How to enable MESH_BED_LEVELING?

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by fpex, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    Does it make sense to enable it ? I see it is by default disabled.
     
  2. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    190
    100% sense!

    Results are MUCH better, mostly I think because it compensates for the sag in the rods which comes from both X and Y axes and means that the nozzle is furthest away from the glass at the corners of the bed.
     
  3. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    190
    ps make sure also you've got a recent firmware (eg RC6) because mesh levelling has gotten better over time.
     
  4. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    I am on RC6
    enabling is just uncommenting the define or something else?

    I honestly see little to none saying int he centre. I have a problem with a slightly twisted bed (towards the back left corner), nothing one washer could not fix. But I rather have the better bed levelling since things might change over time ...
     
  5. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    735
    Yes but you have to disable auto bed leveling, both are not allowed...
     
  6. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    so I need this

    #define MESH_BED_LEVELING // Enable mesh bed leveling.


    and this

    //#define AUTO_BED_LEVELING_FEATURE // Delete the comment to enable (remove // at the start of the line)


    anything else?
     
  7. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    735
    Yup

    No idea on what you based your config on, you have to check the probe points, maybe change the Z_SAFE_HOME_POSITION...
     
  8. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    I ma using the config from the rc6 dual hybrid from your post. I have changed some things but nothing related to this part.
     
  9. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    735
    Look at the values in this config: Configuration.h
    They are not changed in the config you based on so Marlin standard which won't work for you...
     
  10. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    Thanks.
     
  11. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    I see that apart from the mesh grid we did have similar but not exactly the same changes :)
    thanks again.
     
  12. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    Is to normal that with mesh leaving the z offset parameter disappears?
     
  13. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    735
    Where is that? In the menus?
     
  14. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    YEs, the z-offset option in the menu is gone and after homing now the nozzle is rather high and it takes it as zero.
    With the auto levelling, it would properly home the Z using the z offset

    This is my mesh part


    // Modified Settings
    #define MESH_BED_LEVELING // Enable mesh bed leveling.

    #if ENABLED(MESH_BED_LEVELING)
    // not sure the following is needed
    #define Z_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER -1.75 // Z offset: -below +above [the nozzle]
    #define MESH_MIN_X 5
    #define MESH_MAX_X (257)
    #define MESH_MIN_Y 5
    #define MESH_MAX_Y (195)
    #define MESH_NUM_X_POINTS 3 // Don't use more than 7 points per axis, implementation limited.
    #define MESH_NUM_Y_POINTS 3
    #define MESH_HOME_SEARCH_Z 4 // Z after Home, bed somewhere below but above 0.0.
    #define MANUAL_BED_LEVELING // Add display menu option for bed leveling.
    #if ENABLED(MANUAL_BED_LEVELING)
    #define MBL_Z_STEP 0.025 // Step size while manually probing Z axis.
    #endif // MANUAL_BED_LEVELING
    #endif // MESH_BED_LEVELING

    and the other is commented

    //#define AUTO_BED_LEVELING_FEATURE // Delete the comment to enable (remove // at the start of the line)

    MANUAL_BED_LEVELING is nowhere defined/enabled
     
  15. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    735
    Did you level the bed already?
     
  16. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    no, I just uploaded the firmware with few changes plus mesh levelling during the break of the football match :)
    Is it normal ? Because I cannot move the bed further up (if not by hand with steppers off of course)
     
  17. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    735
    Yes it is... Just be sure your IR sensor has a good height compared to you nozzles... To do this I use the belt method... Just start the bed level sequence. Go to the second point then level your IR. Reset the box then start the level again. I usually have to move the bed to -2.5mm on the points...
     
  18. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    the z offset was (with the normal levelling) -1.75. I guess I need to try the mesh and see if I get an hang of it. Never used before.
     
  19. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    735
    It is easy... Much more easy as the ABL first time sequence IMHO...
     
  20. fpex

    fpex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    58
    Just did it. I agree, easy and very effective. Thanks a lot.
    I now wish I has it on all my printers, present and future :)
     
    Alex9779 and PsyVision like this.

Share This Page