IDEX Z offset not working

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by TstarkEngineering, Apr 14, 2018.

  1. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    129
    Hey guys,

    Trying to get z offset working for IDEX

    I have this in my startup script but it always seems to default to the z height of T1 even if T0 is active.

    Z axis does not move upon tool change

    M218 T1 X0 Y0 Z-0.4 ;
    M219 T0 X0 Y0 Z0 ;
    G28;
     
  2. gonzalo

    gonzalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    129
    Did you ever figure this out?
    I struggle with that too.
     
  3. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    129
    Nope. I never run idex because of it. In fact im even switching out the nimbles because it skips too much
     
  4. gonzalo

    gonzalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    129
    sorry to hear that, nimbles work well for me... did you switch to 4 microstepping?
     
  5. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    129
    Its not the stepper its the force on the drive wheel.
     
  6. Proto_BB

    Proto_BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    9
    I really hope someone has figured out the z offset?
     
  7. mhe

    mhe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    32
    Probably a bug? @dc42 maybe knows?
     
  8. gonzalo

    gonzalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    129
    I have it working using the OPOSIT value sign, if the right extruder is high then I put a POSITIVE value. Go figure...
     
  9. dc42

    dc42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    84
    Only if @TstarkEngineering is using a Duet; but I don't think he is.
     
  10. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    129
    Not running duet...still have the error...i will need to fix it somehow with idex aquas
     
  11. mhe

    mhe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    32
    Idex Aquas and no Duet? What kind of blasphemy is this?
     
  12. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    129
    Haha soon...
     
  13. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    129
    Whats so great about duet anyways?
     
  14. mhe

    mhe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    32
    Where do I start... It has the most powerful yet most silent stepper drivers available for any 3D printer. The Duet uses Trinamic TMC2660 stepper drives that are a WORLD better than the common drivers (referring to the A4988 and Texas DRV8825). The TMC2660 is basically as quiet as the 2130 Silent StepSticks but capable of double the amps. Hence you never get anywhere close to its limits and it runs very cool.

    You can expand a Duet with a Duex5 to up to 10 of such motor channels. You have a built in webinterface so you don't need something that feeds the board GCode like OctoPrint or have a PC hooked up to the printer. The duet has brilliant documentation and EVERYTHING it does is customizable as it can do stuff like tool changing etc with macros. You can fine-tune the thing to a degree that no other electronics board for any printer can match to this date.

    It has a 32bit ARM CPU that is orders of magnitudes more powerful than the ATMega stuff you find on the Arduino Mega based stuff like RAMPS, RUMBA etc. That horsepower enables an amazingly smooth calculation of motion and if you put the machines side by side, you would think there are many many mods done when all that has been done is an electronics conversion. It is the single best upgrade I've done to my BigBox (and I've done quite a few). The CPU enables you to actually make use of the 256microstep resolution the drivers allow you - a RUMBA would crap itself trying, even at slow print speeds simply because it cannot do the math fast enough.

    On the usability side you don't need to reflash your board when you change firmware settings - you can do that in the webinterface and some values even on the fly while you print. You can even do tool mixing that enables you to have an IDEX machine print 2 identical parts simultaneously with the 2 printheads. I could go on all afternoon about these.

    It is one of these things that are hard to explain unless you try it for yourself. The price difference of a RUMBA + 5x TMC2130 or 5x DRV8825 is neglible to a Duet. And the Duet does all that, does it better and does it independently.

    tl;dr: Get one. Thank me later.
     
    Spoon Unit likes this.
  15. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    129
    Haha i will have to do that.
     

Share This Page