Jerky XY motion

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by Miasmictruth, Apr 10, 2016.

  1. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    I have printed a few small objects in vase mode with S3D seemed fine. I went to print some thing a little larger and I started to notice some jerky motion. When I speed up the motion, the jerking get worse, which can been see in the video (not terribly fast mind you) The hesitations ruin the print and it seems both X and Y are jerking at the same time.





    Slicing the same object in Slic3r I ramped up the Feed rate to 300 percent and dont seem to see the issue (other issues with that make not possible to print with slic3r currently but working on it.)


    Any ideas what might be happening?

    I am currently running RC5 firmware from @Alex9779 as well as a tweeked version of his S3D set up for vase mode. Tommorow will try the RC3 firmware.
     
  2. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    Just a side note, if you turn up the audio it's easier to hear the steppers chatter then it is to see the hesitations..
     
  3. Kanedias

    Kanedias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    124
    could it be stepper tuning, not getting enough current to move smoothly?
     
  4. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    Maybe, it didn't seem to act that way with slic3r though, the other odd thing is it seem both X and Y seem to jitter at the same time.

    I will record all the stepper voltages later, seen a post where someone had very different voltages from defualt if I can't find it.

    I have tweeked Y but the others should be around .55
     
  5. Kanedias

    Kanedias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    124
    If you have a link for the model I could scale it to the same dimensions, slice it in S3D and upload the Goode for you to try, that might confirm if it's a slicer or hardware issue.
     
  6. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112

    Sure, worth a try. I will be able to do that in 30min to an hour if your still around then.
     
  7. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
  8. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    my current voltages are
    X: 0.537
    Y: 0.517
    Z: 0.512
    E1: 0.567
    E2: 0.570
     
  9. Kanedias

    Kanedias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    124
    Link isn't workin :(
     
  10. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
  11. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
  12. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
  13. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
  14. Kanedias

    Kanedias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    124

    Attached Files:

  15. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    Thanks will try it now, but not longer think its a slicing issue as it does not seem to be in slic3r too.

    I put all the axis to default .55-.57, loaded the official firmware, tried issuing the print form the SD card repetier host and S3D

    I think its something more, the print is a cylinder, now if I move fast I can move x and or y quick no problem in a straight line, I think because it has to accelerate and decal all the time since the object is round that is somehow the issue.

    Fired up my old printer to get these prints done, it has to go super slow because the extruder sucks but oh well.
     
  16. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    I think I had that too, but only on certain circles and only at certain speeds.

    Just want to emphasize: I did nothing special to that firmware, is just transferred the settings and (and activated some more features in the Geek branch). It is stock Marlin RC4 or RC5 or whatever will come.
    If I will do something special then I will write a post or in the README about it and it will be in a special branch or even in a new repo...
     
  17. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    I didn't really think you did, I just flashed it back to RC3 to cross that off the list of possible issues.
     
  18. R Design

    R Design Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    183
    @Miasmictruth did you try positioning the part in a different part of the bed (near a corner) ? And / or also in a different orientation (rotated 90 degrees)?
     
  19. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    Nope but interesting thought I can try that in a bit.
     
  20. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    @Miasmictruth and what were your results with RC3? Did you have the same issue?
     

Share This Page