Looking For a Big Box Mentor

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by ldaponte, Jan 17, 2017.

1. ldaponte

ldaponte Well-Known Member

If there is someone with copious spare time on their hands and that own a E3D Big Box dual hybrid Titan printer and would be willing to coach me I would appreciate a private message. My printer is fully assembled and I've gone through the startup calibration and have printed two 1cm cubes out of PLA with poor print quality on only one of the print heads, second print head is grinding the ABS filament. I've had the printer since last July and my goal is to be able get both print heads printing PLA and ABS in good quality. Where I'm weak is knowing how to configure the Marlin header files to match my particular printer configuration - which is a stock dual hybrid Titan. I will also admin that I am a beginner with 3D printers and realize now that getting a Big Box was biting off more than I can chew. I'm comfortable with software development, Arduinos, electronics, but am a bit lost with the various different Big Box configurations being used in this forum, correct software build, and settings for my model. Currently my printer is crashing into left and right sides of the printer and crashing into the bed when I try to level it. Last firmware update this evening has ended in a blank blue LCD panel. The last time this happened I had to connect the Marlin board directly to my laptop and flash it - OctoPrint does not seem to be actually uploading any code.

Cheers

Larry
    Basel Switzerland

2. Greg_The_Maker

Greg_The_Maker Administrator
    Staff Member

Hi Larry,

Can you post some photos of the printhead?

Did you wire it with the left bowden extruder as T0 and the right direct extruder as T1?

Which slicer are you using?

3. ldaponte

4. ldaponte

I haven't even started to use 3D modeling software or slicers. I downloaded a test print file for a 1cm cube. This is it so far.

-Larry

5. ldaponte

Prints so far: