Makerfarm Pegasus 12" vs Bigbox 12"?

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by HDer, Oct 26, 2016.

1. HDer

HDer Member

Hi, I am new to 3D printers and am considering purchasing a larger sized printer. Bigbox seems to have put their sales/delivery on hold and I need to make a purchase soon. Can anyone offer opinions of the Makerfarm Pegasus 12" (with Titan & e3d-v6) vs the Bigbox 12" printers?

Does anyone know when Bigbox will be selling/shipping again? They seemed to have ignored my emails inquiring about this...

2. Tom De Bie

Tom De Bie Well-Known Member

Another option is to source everything for the BB yourself. BB is completely OpenSource ;)
    You'll find all the files (STL, BOM, etc...) on Thingiverse

3. HDer

HDer Member

Great idea, but only problem is that you need a 3D printer to build this 3D printer...!

4. BR27

BR27 New Member

I only have experience of the big box so I can't help there but if your quick there is a factory built big box for sale on eBay:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/112174113072

They will even take an offer on it according to the purchase details, good luck!

5. HDer

HDer Member

Thank you for the link, unfortunately I am in Canada and unit is in UK, and seller will not ship!

6. Dr Jeep

Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

Nobody seems to know what's happening with future BB production and the Bigbox team have gone silent on the matter (I'm not even sure how much of the BB team remain other than Greg).

Being brutally honest, It's a good printer but given we are fast approaching a season where sales would be at a peak and there has been no information out of E3D regarding future availability......There is one clear logical conclusion (about the only one which makes any sense in terms of explaining their recent behaviour)

I think the safest bet is that they don't intend to make it anymore (at least not as a complete printer or complete kit), I challenge E3D to make a firm statement saying any different :)