Marlin 1.1.9 firmware for BigBox Pro

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by metajack, Jan 1, 2019.

  1. metajack

    metajack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    7
    I moved last year to Minneapolis and haven't had a chance to get the BigBox up and running since. Since I had a bunch of free time over the holiday I figured I'd get it dialed in. As part of doing that I went ahead and forward ported the BigBox patches to Marlin to the latest 1.1.9 release, including some fixes since the way Marlin did a few things has changed.

    You can find my work here: https://github.com/metajack/marlin-bigboxpro/tree/bigboxpro-1.1.x (note that you want the bigboxpro-1.1.x branch, not my old rc6 branch). There's a pre-built firmware hex in there as well:
    https://raw.githubusercontent.com/metajack/marlin-bigboxpro/bigboxpro-1.1.x/bigboxpro-1.1.9.hex

    Everything seems to work quite well, and I'm doing a 3Dbenchy print as I type this.

    Note that this uses auto bed leveling in bilinear mode, doing each probe 3x and averaging them. Also, I can't get the bootscreen logo looking right for some reason, but haven't had a chance to debug that. If someone has the original image that was used, I can use the tool to make a new one.

    Happy Holidays!
     
    Bo Petersen likes this.
  2. Bo Petersen

    Bo Petersen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    installed it via PlatformIO, it just works, although i had to disabled Automatic Bed Leveling and rerun a PID for both nozzle and bed.

    so far its working great with no issues, Linear Advance works like a charm and the whole reason why i upgraded ;) thanks for the bigbox edit ;)

    //Bo
     
  3. metajack

    metajack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    7
    I just pushed a minor update which turns on the new S-curve acceleration and M73 progress reporting.

    Is LIN_ADVANCE improving your prints? What did you set the LIN_ADVANCE_K to?
     
  4. Acapella

    Acapella Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi I just tried flashing it to my Bigbox Pro (its been a while since I have used it last.) The version number at start up still says "1.10 RC3" I flashed the HEX file through xloader. Just wanted to confirm whether this is normal or not.
     
  5. metajack

    metajack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    7
    I just double checked the firmware binary, and could not find the strings "RC3" or "1.10" in there at all. I suspect that the firmware update failed and you are still on whatever version you had installed. The version string I set in the code is "1.1.9-bbp".
     
  6. Acapella

    Acapella Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah the upload must have failed. I compiled and uploaded through the arduino IDE and now shows the correct version number. Tho the logo is garbled.
     

Share This Page