Marlin 1.1.9 firmware for BigBox Pro

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by metajack, Jan 1, 2019.

  1. metajack

    metajack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    9
    I moved last year to Minneapolis and haven't had a chance to get the BigBox up and running since. Since I had a bunch of free time over the holiday I figured I'd get it dialed in. As part of doing that I went ahead and forward ported the BigBox patches to Marlin to the latest 1.1.9 release, including some fixes since the way Marlin did a few things has changed.

    You can find my work here: https://github.com/metajack/marlin-bigboxpro/tree/bigboxpro-1.1.x (note that you want the bigboxpro-1.1.x branch, not my old rc6 branch). There's a pre-built firmware hex in there as well:
    https://raw.githubusercontent.com/metajack/marlin-bigboxpro/bigboxpro-1.1.x/bigboxpro-1.1.9.hex

    Everything seems to work quite well, and I'm doing a 3Dbenchy print as I type this.

    Note that this uses auto bed leveling in bilinear mode, doing each probe 3x and averaging them. Also, I can't get the bootscreen logo looking right for some reason, but haven't had a chance to debug that. If someone has the original image that was used, I can use the tool to make a new one.

    Happy Holidays!
     
    moshen, Mike Kelly and Bo Petersen like this.
  2. Bo Petersen

    Bo Petersen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    installed it via PlatformIO, it just works, although i had to disabled Automatic Bed Leveling and rerun a PID for both nozzle and bed.

    so far its working great with no issues, Linear Advance works like a charm and the whole reason why i upgraded ;) thanks for the bigbox edit ;)

    //Bo
     
  3. metajack

    metajack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    9
    I just pushed a minor update which turns on the new S-curve acceleration and M73 progress reporting.

    Is LIN_ADVANCE improving your prints? What did you set the LIN_ADVANCE_K to?
     
  4. Acapella

    Acapella Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi I just tried flashing it to my Bigbox Pro (its been a while since I have used it last.) The version number at start up still says "1.10 RC3" I flashed the HEX file through xloader. Just wanted to confirm whether this is normal or not.
     
  5. metajack

    metajack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    9
    I just double checked the firmware binary, and could not find the strings "RC3" or "1.10" in there at all. I suspect that the firmware update failed and you are still on whatever version you had installed. The version string I set in the code is "1.1.9-bbp".
     
  6. Acapella

    Acapella Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah the upload must have failed. I compiled and uploaded through the arduino IDE and now shows the correct version number. Tho the logo is garbled.
     
  7. cez

    cez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    22
    Is there anything like this out there for the hybrid dual titan?
     
  8. Paul Begley

    Paul Begley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    20
    Cez, you’re welcome to give my branch a go.
    For some time now i has been running my own 1.1.x BugFix branch. Regularly merging the main marlin changes into my fork.

    Although I have modified it a little, adding/tweaking the code for my own BigBox customisations eg Dock, XY plane testing, inverting the default behaviour when you change tools (T0/T1) so that the head doesn’t move. (these things can be dis/enabled in “BigBoxCustomisations.h”)

    have a look at
    https://github.com/autonumous/MarlinFirmware-BigBoxV1.1

    my main branches are:
    • DHT_BF1.1.x_dev is my dev branch, tracking the current Marlin bugfix-1.1.x branch. I tend to update this every so often
    • 1.1.9-BigBox is the Marlin 1.1.9 release (actually tracking the 1.1.x branch). I update this when changes have been made to the marlin 1.1.x branch

    Marlin Development on the 1.1.x line has slowed/halted, in favour of the new 2.0.x.
    I've recently merged my tweaks with the Marlin 2.0.x branch, DHT_BF2.0.x_dev on my GitHub, but I’ve not tested anything.

    I'm also use a slightly tweaked version of tohara’s octopi plugin “BigBox Firmware Flasher” to allow compiling/flashing from the pi. A word of waning, on many occasions i have enabled too many options resulting in a firmware file exceeding the limit, resulting in me bricking my RUMBA. Luckily not totally bricked, simply requires refreshing using a ISCP programmer but just hassle.

    I can upload a precompiled firmware if you like, although these are based on my printer and how i’ve been playing/testing with things, so YMMV. ie I’m not responsible for any thing breaking :)

    not sure how long I will stick with Marlin as i recently bought a Duet board and plan to covert to IDEX.

    Paul
     
    cez likes this.
  9. Crashbombs

    Crashbombs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    16
    Let me just bring this thread back from the dead.

    So this is the top google result for updating e3d bigbox firmware. I got it updated just fine using the HEX and Xloader. However, when I tried to auto level the the probe would go off the build area on the left side. (I have a standard BB pro with the IR sensor.) So I decided I have experience with Arduino's I will just look at the code make a few changes and update.

    This also went well, sort of. I found the probe offset was set to -32 in the Y direction and 0 in the X direction, which made sense with what I was experiencing. So I measured the off set of my probe and came up with Y = 0, and x = -66. However now when I try to compile I get an error in the sanity check as follows:

    #if ABL_GRID
    static_assert(LEFT_PROBE_BED_POSITION < RIGHT_PROBE_BED_POSITION, "LEFT_PROBE_BED_POSITION must be less than RIGHT_PROBE_BED_POSITION.");
    static_assert(FRONT_PROBE_BED_POSITION < BACK_PROBE_BED_POSITION, "FRONT_PROBE_BED_POSITION must be less than BACK_PROBE_BED_POSITION.");
    static_assert(LEFT_PROBE_BED_POSITION >= MIN_PROBE_X, "LEFT_PROBE_BED_POSITION is outside the probe region.");
    static_assert(RIGHT_PROBE_BED_POSITION <= MAX_PROBE_X, "RIGHT_PROBE_BED_POSITION is outside the probe region.");
    static_assert(FRONT_PROBE_BED_POSITION >= MIN_PROBE_Y, "FRONT_PROBE_BED_POSITION is outside the probe region.");
    static_assert(BACK_PROBE_BED_POSITION <= MAX_PROBE_Y, "BACK_PROBE_BED_POSITION is outside the probe region.");

    Outside probe region. Now I have checked all the variables that that relates too and I can't find anything that would make the program think it is outside the region. Is there something simple I am missing?

    I also found if I just "//" that line of code it will compile and update, but if I do autobed leveling with those settings, the BB will Home, then it won't do anything.

    If I try linear bed leveling, it will auto home, then lower the bed 10mm or so, then move to the first point, then time out because bed is too low and the probe never sees it.

    Any help would be great!

    And thank you for helping a noob that knows just enough to get into trouble!
     

Share This Page