Marlin RC8 for BigBox 1.1 Hybrid Dual?

Discussion in 'Guides, Mods, and Upgrades' started by W1EBR.Gene, Dec 18, 2016.

Tags:
  1. W1EBR.Gene

    W1EBR.Gene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    26
    Is anyone working on adapting Marlin RC8 to the BigBox 1.1 Dual Hybrid configuration?
     
  2. gearmesh

    gearmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    13
    Is there an RC8 for dual Titan?
    I haven't seen any.
     
  3. A Dragon In A Pie Costume

    A Dragon In A Pie Costume Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    15
    i am in the progress of making an rc8 for dual hubrid non mirrored
     
  4. W1EBR.Gene

    W1EBR.Gene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    26
    Great! I just got a BLTOUCH and would like to use RC8. Would you mind sharing your modified files?
     
  5. A Dragon In A Pie Costume

    A Dragon In A Pie Costume Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    15
  6. W1EBR.Gene

    W1EBR.Gene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    26
    Have you finished yet? :rolleyes:
     
  7. A Dragon In A Pie Costume

    A Dragon In A Pie Costume Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    15
    unfortunately my harddrive died and I won't have a new one until friday, my apologies... :(
     
  8. markoaurelije

    markoaurelije Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
  9. W1EBR.Gene

    W1EBR.Gene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    26
    Thank you!
     
  10. gearmesh

    gearmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    13
  11. gearmesh

    gearmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    13
    Quick question. Can the Z steps be set in the config file. I don't see it in the list.

    Ahhh...If found it. It is the 3rd element in the array under:

    /** Default Axis Steps Per Unit (steps/mm)
    X, Y, Z, E0 [, E1[, E2[, E3]]]
    */
    Resolved.jpg

    Silly me I was looking for something starting with "Z" and not "D". Makes sense once you realized is an set of steps for x, y, and z and more.
     
  12. markoaurelije

    markoaurelije Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
  13. gearmesh

    gearmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    13
    When I level the bed in RC8 using the above. As the nozzle goes to the X nearest to zero, my probe is off the bed already so the nozzle will come down to hit the bed What setting do I need to change to set that X to be a higher number and keep my sensor above the bed and not off too far to the right.
     
  14. tohara

    tohara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    59
    @gearmesh
    What leveling type are you using?
     
  15. gearmesh

    gearmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    13
    Whatever came out of the box in RC8 in the Pigshag repo.

    _repo.jpg
     
    #15 gearmesh, Jan 15, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017
  16. tohara

    tohara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    59
    These will set up your probing boundaries.


    #define X_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER 14 // X offset: -left +right [of the nozzle]
    #define Y_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER 32 // Y offset: -front +behind [the nozzle]

    // Set the boundaries for probing (where the probe can reach).
    #define LEFT_PROBE_BED_POSITION (X_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER+2)
    #define RIGHT_PROBE_BED_POSITION (X_MAX_POS-14)
    #define FRONT_PROBE_BED_POSITION (Y_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER+2)
    #define BACK_PROBE_BED_POSITION (187)
     
  17. gearmesh

    gearmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    13
    You Rock Tohara! I will put these in tonight and test it out.
     
  18. gearmesh

    gearmesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    13
    Uh-Oh. Will these work for a Dual Titan?
     
  19. tohara

    tohara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    59
    I am not familiar with the Dual Titan, but I does not look like the values I pasted from the Pipshag repo is for a Dual Titan.

    You need to set up your offsets and then I would start with the below values and modify if you want to go closer to the edges.

    #define X_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER ?? // X offset: -left +right [of the nozzle]
    #define Y_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER ?? // Y offset: -front +behind [the nozzle]

    // Set the boundaries for probing (where the probe can reach).
    #define LEFT_PROBE_BED_POSITION 30
    #define RIGHT_PROBE_BED_POSITION 270
    #define FRONT_PROBE_BED_POSITION 30
    #define BACK_PROBE_BED_POSITION 170

    Note that depending on your offsets, the compile will fail if the entered bed positions can't be reached.
     
    #19 tohara, Jan 16, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017
    gearmesh likes this.
  20. markoaurelije

    markoaurelije Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    You need to set
    Z_SAFE_HOMING_X_POINT
    Z_SAFE_HOMING_Y_POINT
    and
    X_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER (I think this is in relation to the left nozzle!?)
    Y_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER

    Values in the link works for me. I have Dual Titan Hybrid.
     

Share This Page