Maxtemp.pt100 wire fatigued

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by Michael Frampton, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
    Bb dual 1.1..right extruder pt100 wire fatigued and broke free,so now i have max temp reading..can i reinstall bb 1.1 hybrid single fw and use it with only 1 extruder till i can get a new part on tuesday?
     
  2. Steven

    Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    19
    Same part failed on mine. Yes you can load a single version of any firmware (stick with the same branch you have for dual).
    I hate that the PT100 is almost 4 times the price of the older cartidge style thermister.
     
    Michael Frampton likes this.
  3. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
    They are £4.50 plus vat
     
  4. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
    Have i got to electrically disconnect the 2nd head? Or can i leave it connected? Thx
     
  5. mike01hu

    mike01hu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    166
    Leave it connected.
     
    Michael Frampton likes this.
  6. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks.thats saved me some time
     
  7. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
    Got it going again on left extruder only..im using pet at 240c..but its struggling to stay upto 225c and had "err thermal runaway " twice now 15 mins into print
     
  8. Dr Jeep

    Dr Jeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    169
    Generally that's either because your print cooling fan is mounted too high or you haven't done the PID tuning, you really should have no problem at all holding those temps on the BB.
     
    Michael Frampton likes this.
  9. mike01hu

    mike01hu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    166
    As @Dr Jeep says you do need to run the PID auto tune function: LCD/Control/Temperature/PID Auto Tune and follow the dialogue but do not forget to save to memory.
     
    Michael Frampton likes this.
  10. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
  11. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
    I dont have pid auto on my menu. Ive got bb hybrid pro hex..on a dual hybrid titan..with a broken right hand pt100..running as a single :/
     
  12. tohara

    tohara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    59
    Do you have the OctoPi option?
     
  13. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
  14. tohara

    tohara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    59
    Then you will have to activate the PID tuning menu in the firmaware and compile and flash, or you can follow this guide to do it from a terminal.
    http://reprap.org/wiki/PID_Tuning
     
    Michael Frampton likes this.
  15. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thats a bit beyond me atm :(
     
  16. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Or you choose to use my firmware which just has some additional features and also PID tuning on the LCD...
     
  17. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
    A link please Alex..i may already have it.
     
  18. Michael Frampton

    Michael Frampton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
    Does it have auto pid tuning? Thx
     
  19. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Michael Frampton likes this.
  20. mike01hu

    mike01hu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    166
    If you use Alex's firmware the option and some more are enabled. I forgot to ask which you had.
     

Share This Page