My daily routine with Titan direct extruder

Discussion in 'Titan' started by VladimirK, Oct 20, 2019.

1. VladimirK

VladimirK Member

I'm new to 3D printing. With Anycubic 4Max Pro seems everything is fine, print quality is great, but the biggest issue I have is removing filament.
    That happens with PLA, Flex and finally I tried to clean nozzle as "3D Printing Nerd" suggested with Nylon - everything was fine until I tried to pull filament at 70C. It was nightmare.

PLA (green) and Flex (transparent)
    PLA and Flex no zoom.jpg

Nylon
    Nylon small.jpg

Is it something wrong with Titan extruder design? When plastic touches cold metal wheels it obviously hardens. The biggest problems I have: every time it requires full disassembly. I cannot see anything inside extruder and I cannot easily remove jams.

2. Spoon Unit

Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

As the filament leaves the hot end, it enters the heatbreak, and should cool sufficiently before it reaches the Titan. The only thing I can think of is that you're unloading at extremely high speed, thus enabling the filament to get into the Titan before it cools. This would imply you're using a direct drive mounting I would think. In any case, if you just alter you unload speed down to a slower speed, the filament should stop sticking to the Titan parts. I don't think this is a Titan design issue. The filament will be close to room temp when it gets back to the extruder on my printer.

3. VladimirK

VladimirK Member

At first I tried to use built-in feature "Filament remove" and it was even worse - filament was squeezed on wheel. With manual pulling out I'm frequently at least able to pull filament through small hole while it soft.
    Yes, it is Titan direct. The problem as for me that hole slightly greater than filament diameter - if filament not round anymore it stuck.

#3 VladimirK, Oct 20, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2019
  4. Spoon Unit