nijaflex paramenters

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by KNM3D, Nov 11, 2016.

  1. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    so I followed this thread and the settings made my printer crawl.
    I actually couldn't tell it was moving.
    https://forum.e3d-online.com/index.php?threads/ninjaflex.764/

    what are good settings for ninjaflex?

    following this thread I went from default printing speed 3600 mm/sec under the other tab, down to 20mm/sec
    this just seems crazy slow.

    what am I not understanding?
     
  2. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Think you got a unit problem.
    3600 sounds more like mm/min, 20 is mm/sec. If your slicer is set to mm/min then don't use 20 but 20*60=1200.
     
  3. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    ninja flex is crazy hard to print
     
  4. Henry feldman

    Henry feldman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    389
    I found a Macallan 18 year Reserve makes it go way better... And you tolerate the endless failures way better! ;)
     
    mike01hu likes this.
  5. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    so I got the units thing figured out,
    but the ninjaflex doesn't want to stay going, and loops out and and curls out like spaghetti at the stepper.

    any ideas how to stop this from doing this. I have the tension almost as high as it can get.
    is it normal to have to babysit ninja?
     
  6. Bluemalu

    Bluemalu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    6
  7. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    how will this help me with a stock dual bigbox?
     
  8. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    where do I do the setting so when it moves to the next layer it doesn't retract?
     
  9. Henry feldman

    Henry feldman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    389
  10. Bluemalu

    Bluemalu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    6
    They are for the standard bigbox, I haven't upgraded the extruders yet. The mirroring is for the actual cut out that is round the filament. When I printed out with NinjaFlex it made a big difference to it working or not.

    I'm going to assume you use Simplify3D. On the process settings page - advanced tab - Ooze control behaviour - un tick "Force retraction between layers"

    https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1672140
     
  11. Henry feldman

    Henry feldman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    389
    I have a similar thingiverse item for the taz6 in my lab which helped some, although it still managed to squeeze out sometimes
     
  12. KNM3D

    KNM3D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    I got it figured out. YEAH!!!! some small tweaks and I should be good to go.
    what material would you guys recommend for support material? I tried printing a phone case and the very last overhang the layers didn't do so well.
     

Share This Page