Not Printing

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by MJ Farley, Apr 28, 2016.

  1. MJ Farley

    MJ Farley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello all,

    So, I got BB all put together, figured out how to flash the firmware from another thread on here, so now the dial turns the right way and no shrill beeps anymore, but when I went to calibrate the filament (or print at all), the printer does nothing... it shows the g-code message at the bottom, but the extruder doesn't do anything... I can use the axis feature to manually extrude the filament, so the motors are hooked up correctly... so I was wondering if it is a firmware issue: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ymg01fv5neginpz/20160427_193207.mp4?dl=0
     
  2. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    125
    What firmware did you use ? Perhaps the one with the Tool0/1 change ?
     
  3. MJ Farley

    MJ Farley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
  4. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    125
    Ah, ok. Did your printer function good before the upgrade ?
     
  5. MJ Farley

    MJ Farley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Unfortunately, no... I tried it before flashing the firmware, and it didn't do anything then, so, I thought that if I flashed it it would fix it...
     
  6. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    125
    I honestly don't get it. If I look at your screen, all seems fine. I think you better contact support about this, @Greg Holloway : can you see what is going wrong here ?
     
  7. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Does homing work?
    Did you level the bed?
    Can you move other axes with the LCD?
     
  8. MJ Farley

    MJ Farley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Everything else seems to work just fine: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zk1gjpg9htf5gcy/20160428_143206.mp4?dl=0

    In the video, I preheated the nozzle to 210 and proceeded to home it, used the bed leveling feature, moved the z and x, and then manually moved the extruder with the lcd which pushed the filament out... But, still no printing... I've tried homing it before printing, preheated the nozzle and bed... I'm completely baffled as to why it refuses to print... :confused:
     
  9. Old_Tafr

    Old_Tafr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    75
    Are you trying to print from the SD card direct or from a gcode file produced say by S3D?
     
  10. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    In the video he pushed the LCD selecting a file from the SD, the extruder_0 file for filament calibration and the printer does nothing... Question answered?
     
  11. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    Others have had this same problem but then hooked up either S3D or Octopus and it has then worked fine.
     
  12. MJ Farley

    MJ Farley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    So, should I just try writing a file to the SD card from S3D and seeing if that the trouble is with the files given on the card? Thanks
     
  13. MJ Farley

    MJ Farley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tried and failed again... I imported the fff dual profile into S3D and wrote the g-code to the SD card... but it just sits there mocking me :mad:
     
  14. wfredette

    wfredette Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    25
    Have you tried printing from a laptop connected by USB? It's not the way you'd want to do things regularly, but it might help rule out a problem with the SD card reader?
     
  15. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    125
    @wfredette : Good idea. You could also try to execute the gcodes from the calibration script in a terminal, and see what the Rumba answers. Sometimes the board comes up with very useful information.
     
  16. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    This is how I meant. I don't know how new MJ Farley is to printing but Marlin will want to sit and wait until the hotend temperature has stabilised for 10 seconds, if it fails to do so then it won't print. This may affect things written from S3D to the card but I'm not sure how it affects the gcode that comes on the SD card from BigBox. You usually have to give it a certain g-code that makes it wait for that temperature to stabilise and I don't think that is in the g-code files on the SD.
     
  17. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Yeah but the calibration script should work, there is not temp setting in it... This is strange...
    Maybe the best would be to connect a terminal (OctoPrint or a PC) and see what the box tells you when you start a print either with the host or via SD you will get some feedback through the terminal...
     
  18. Ray

    Ray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    11
    I just replied to a similar thread, it may or may not be related, but if you have a Raspberry PI installed and havent installed OctoPrint then I found it made the printer just hang. To resolve I disconnected the PI USB from the Rumba and the print started fine, I then installed OctoPrint (Instead of the default Raspberry PI NOOB image on the SD card) and then it also worked as expected printing from the SD card.
     
  19. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    I am not sure what on that SD is when you don't install OctoPi on it, maybe some generic RPi image that could to some stuff to the connected USB devices which influences the RUMBA...
    So that might be a solution...
     
  20. Ray

    Ray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    11
    From what I can see it looks like the RaspberryPI NOOB image, so I am guessing it just sits at the NOOB page asking what to install, but why that would effect the Rumba via its USB port I don't know.
     

Share This Page