Nothing Running From SD Card

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by Syko_Symatic, Mar 9, 2016.

  1. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Hi guys please can someone help. I am trying to calibrate the e-steps or at least print something but nothing seems to run. All homing has worked fine. Z-Level is set and bed leveling has been done. However, when I run a program from the SD Card it just sits at the home point.[​IMG][/IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Does anyone have any ideas?

    I have noticed that the IR Sensor is lit constantly when at home.
     
  2. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Does the extruder_0 gcode, simply heat up the extruder? Have you tried to run the Benchy?
     
  3. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Yeah I have tried benchy but exactly the same thing happens. I am following the build guide instructions but have just hit a brick wall with this one.
     
  4. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Hmmm it's like it is waiting on something... What about trying your own print? I would imagine it would do the same thing. Also I believe the IR sensor would be red after it homes, Can you move the axes manually using the LCD?
     
  5. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Yes, everything moves fine until I go to print. I agree, it is almost like it is waiting for the go signal but nothing comes! Arrggghhhh! Tearing my hair out!
     
  6. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Does the extruder temperature fluctuate pretty wildly above and below, like go 3 degrees above, then 3 degrees below?
     
  7. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Yes it does, about 5 either way
     
  8. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    That may be the problem, if it doesn't see a steady temperature, it won't start. However, I am not sure how to dial in the PID, I have read some people needing to do that.
     
  9. Ric Klaren

    Ric Klaren Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here's a short instruction on the PID tuning: http://reprap.org/wiki/PID_Tuning

    The bed PID tuning is disabled in the firmware by default if I'm not mistaken.

    Cheers,

    Ric
     
  10. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    So I have dialed in the PID to hover at 1 deg below or blob on. Still nothing?! Any ideas how to get it to sit above the temp?
     
  11. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    Hmm.. we are venturing into where I have little knowledge.. I am not sure why it won't print, you could send greg a message on the forums and ask him, or if anyone else has an idea..?
     
  12. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    I have sent Greg a message. I might be able to give them a ring and annoy them personally tomorrow. This is killing me. It's bound to be something daft! Does anyone else out there have a solution?
     
  13. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    207
    I'm waiting on a heated print bed that got stuck in transit due to weather, the frustration is real.
     
  14. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    I just can't believe that with minimal issues I have managed to get to this point. All the motion works perfectly but I can't get it to print. I just don't understand it. Waiting on the bed must be a pain but at least you will have all this bit to look forward to!
     
  15. elmoret

    elmoret Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    91
    Can you paste the gcode here?
     
  16. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    @Syko_Symatic Have you tried plugging the BB into a computer to see what S3D reports?
     
  17. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    322
    I'm sure you've done this already, but have you tried powering off and on? I have had a few weird thing and off,count to ten, on has resolved a few.
     
  18. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    @PsyVision I have the OctoPrint upgrade so technically can't connect directly and still have to finish setting it up.

    @Spoon Unit Yes I have tried that one. A few times but just get the same result unfortunately.

    @elmoret the GCode is the sample code from the supplied SD card, I have not modified it in any way.
     
  19. elmoret

    elmoret Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    91
    The sample code has changed over time IIRC, can you post it here please?
     
  20. Rob Heinzonly

    Rob Heinzonly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    125
    Can you post a picture of the backside of the printhead ? Maybe the printcoolers are to far down, or the heaters / Pt100's are not positioned right. This could explain the big jumps in temperature.
     

Share This Page