Print Quality Help.

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by Syko_Symatic, Mar 14, 2016.

  1. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Morning all,

    I am struggling with getting the quality dialled in. I am currently getting what you see in the picture. I have adjusted for the over extrusion as I was getting about 0.4mm over size (20mm cube). I just can't seem to get rid of that wobbly edge and the almost ringing effect?! I have checked all things are tight and taught. Does anyone have any input? Also it's not a repeating effect as it happens in different positions each print.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Update: So I have cured the issues above with a bit of bed leveling and flow adjustment. I am using some nGen (which is amazing stuff) and an just trying to get rid of the "elephant foot" effect. I there a way of fine tuning the Z level?
     
  3. Mike Kelly

    Mike Kelly Volunteer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    89
    You need to increase the first layer height a smidge.

    On a pro this involves increasing the Z offset.

    On a dual this involves increasing the nozzle gap during bed leveling
     
  4. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    322
    You can also increase the first layer height in your slicer. If you're using one of the original profiles, you probably have first layer height at 75% and layer width at 125 or maybe 100. Up the layer height a bit. It's something to tune as it could result in the base layer not sticking enough.
     
  5. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Excellent, good suggestions I will give them all a try. Currently I am having a battle with thermal runaway. I have the fan almost as low as possible (height wise) but no matter what the gradual increase in fan speed I am seeing the hot end struggling to keep up. I am thinking it might be a PID tuning issue but that seems a mission to tune.
     
  6. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    PID autotune is easy, enter M303 E0 S230 C10 at the terminal (I think at a guess) and sit back and chill until it tells you what PID settings are, you can then use (M301 - I think!!) to tell Marlin to use them.

    I can get my fan up to 60% at a temp of 190 but im struggling going higher so will PID autotune with a higher temp to see if it works better, say M303 E0 S250 C10
     
    Rob Heinzonly likes this.
  7. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    There is an auto tune! o_O Why have I not seen this!?

    Do you have to input the PID settings every time the machine is cycled? Looks like a trip home is needed at lunch time. I just watched the printer fail again from work (thermal runaway).
     
  8. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
  9. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Excellent! I will have a read!
     
  10. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    After a reboot from work (via OctoPrint) I have just tuned the PID remotely! So home at lunch to clear the bed and start again!
     
  11. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    @PsyVision I have just tried auto tune at 250 but could not get the hot end there? Odd considering I had it at 285 last night!
     
  12. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    I've not tried it myself so don't know if you can PID tune at that temperature, even if the hotend can reach it :)
     
  13. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    I can't even get to 230 now!?!
     
  14. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    When just setting the temperature? I am not sure about the PID settings I get out, the default has a much higher I and about half the D that I get as a result of tuning. I can get to 230 but no higher.
     
  15. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Getting a MINTEMP error now. I have reset the PID settings to factory and tried again but no luck. I am hoping that if I power down the machine at the mains that it will solve the issue but I am currently worried the PT100 may be damaged?!
     
  16. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    What are the PID values that it gave you out of interest? I don't think it would have damaged the PT100.
     
  17. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    P72.56 I12.10 D108.77
     
  18. PsyVision

    PsyVision Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    248
    Hmmm, see @Alex9779 got the following:
    Code:
    Recv: #define DEFAULT_Kp 22.52
    Recv: #define DEFAULT_Ki 1.66
    Recv: #define DEFAULT_Kd 76.37
    
    And mine were about P 27, I 2, D 80 (i.e. similar) and both different to yours. The default is:

    Code:
    #define DEFAULT_Kp 29.20
    #define DEFAULT_Ki 04.73
    #define DEFAULT_Kd 45.33
    
     
  19. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    @PsyVision Entered those numbers just for giggles and same issue. Definitely in need of a power down and hopefully that will fix it.
     
  20. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    Update: A complete power cycle seemed to fix the issue. Got numbers that looked very similar to @PsyVision after another PID auto tune. Does seem to be oscillating quite a bit so may have to tune that a bit manually through the LCD (if that works). Then back to tuning the fan speeds as that is currently killing my prints every time!
     
    PsyVision and Alex9779 like this.

Share This Page