SOLVED Problem: support prints out as duplicate of supported model

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by jet, Feb 7, 2017.

  1. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ok, so I made a very tiny test case now that I'm finally getting around to using support (attached). I generate gcode using S3D and the BigBox Hybrid Dual setttings as a starting point. In Octoprint, the gcode looks correct in terms of printing support and the supported object.

    When I go to print, however, MADNESS, and not in the good 80s band way! Instead of printing the support inside the supported object, it prints another copy of the supported object in the support media to the left of the supported print. Making things EVEN MORE MAD is that the supported object is roughly ~37mm to the left, which is also the offset between T0 and T1 on my printer.

    What's surprising to me is that the gcode simulator is doing the right thing but the printing is wildly different.

    I'm running the latest version of S3D, octoprint 1.3.1, and a local build of RC6. All I changed was to enabled PID_PARAMS_PER_EXTRUDER and disable AUTO_BED_LEVELING. oh, and I changed the version number to have "jet" in it so I know I'm running my branch.

    Edit: my single-head prints are otherwise just fine with the exception of the printer using 190, 100 as the center of the print.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 jet, Feb 7, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2017
  2. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    Do you have the M218 command in Octoprint for startup?
    Have you calibrated the offset?

    It sounds like the offsets are wrong somewhere.
     
  3. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    When you calibrated the offset did you remember to save?
     
  4. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    I calibrated, but I'll do it again just to be certain.
     
  5. Miasmictruth

    Miasmictruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    112
    I forget from time to time when I mesh level lol
     
  6. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    What I've done in the past is just have the M218 in my init code. I've never been able to get it to save through a reboot using the console save option and the E3D docs suggest putting it in the start of your gcode, so I have
    M218 T1 X37.7 Y-0.4
    in my S3D start script.

    What has me baffled is that it's not printing the support material in the wrong place, it's printing a duplicate of the supported material in the support media. Here's screen shots of Rhino, S3D, and a photo of what actually got printed. Also a timelapse of the build, because why not?

    support-1-cad.jpg support-1-s3d.jpg support-1-print.jpg
     
  7. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ok, I wiped Simplify3D and reloaded alex's config files and tried again. I don't have the tool offsets in firmware, I have them in my g-code header, and I did not set tool offset in Simplify3D, it's 0,0 for all tools.

    I generate g-code, and this is the build preview in octoprint -- the square on the left is support material, the two columns on the right are the beginning of the supported material.

    gcode-preview.jpg
     
  8. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    Try reverseing the X offset.

    I see from the original attached g-code file the command is | M218 T1 X37.5 Y-0.2

    Change the values so they are negative | M218 T1 X-37.5 Y-0.2

    See what happens then....
     
  9. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    I tried that, but it was before I wiped my S3D settings. If switching to negative fixes things then the E3D docs are backwards.

    Has anyone written a FAQ on printing with support? I can't be the only person trying and failing. Or maybe I'm just super-stupid this week. :)
     
  10. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    Attached is my S3D profile for the hybrid....

    It is configured to use the Bowden as support.

    Check the docking position scripts match your machine. Insert the M218 code into OctoPrint's Before print job starts GCODE Script in the settings tab.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Thanks, I'll look at that. I tried a bunch of different settings today, then finally thought it was maybe something wonky with the STL and the slicer. I made a different model and I finally see what's happening, need to find out how/why.

    It should print the support from T1 and the object from T0, alternating heads on each level.

    Instead,
    - it prints a layer of the object using both heads at the same time
    - jogs left ~37mm (M218 distance) and prints a layer using the support media from T1.

    [edit to add] So, let's turn off the support layer and see what happens. It should just print on T0, but instead it prints on T0 and T1, making a copy of the object.
     
    #11 jet, Feb 9, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2017
  12. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    What firmware are you using?
     
  13. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    first message, "and a local build of RC6. All I changed was to enabled PID_PARAMS_PER_EXTRUDER and disable AUTO_BED_LEVELING."

    It's v 1.1 if that matters, pulled from https://github.com/BigBox3D/Marlin.git and I've only made the two changes to the header. Other than this, it's worked pretty much exactly as promised.

    commit dcd97c67a5d269fee0fb1ebbe8e2b76e287c6783
    Author: jet <jet@flatline.net>
    Date: Mon Feb 6 23:01:54 2017 -0500

    use PID_PARAMS_PER_EXTRUDER:

    commit 8af55a7111b3f49f3b9ba2e9d9cf156f8983d229
    Author: jet <jet@flatline.net>
    Date: Mon Jun 20 17:07:40 2016 -0400

    set version to jet, switch to mesh

    commit eecb8cca445a4da1de0b333c8ddfd491fd47d754
    Author: E3D BigBox <support@bigbox-3d.com>
    Date: Sat Jun 4 11:29:08 2016 +0100

    Fixed Auto level Bugs

    commit 5f22b05f253da50165ff291fae9c3ef734cf4740
    Author: E3D BigBox <support@bigbox-3d.com>
    Date: Wed Jun 1 18:56:14 2016 +0100

    Update Configuration.h
     
  14. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Same problem, support media is off to the. I also tried the stock S3D settings for hybrid dual and had similar strange behavior.

    I'm wondering if there's something wonky in my Octoprint setup and it's having problems parsing legit g-code.
     
  15. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
  16. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
    it won't be octoprint, it just sends the code. It is comething to do with the Rumba.

    I suggest you flash the stock firmware and check your wiring. You say both extruders print at the same time if you are printing from just T0?
     
  17. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Sorry, if I set it up for just one extruder it prints fine. If I set it up for both extruders, and turn on Support it prints three things:

    - a copy of the model on T0 (Scaffold)
    - a copy of the model on T1 (Edge)
    - support structure using T0 (Scaffold) offset from the two models.

    If I turn support off, it prints two copies of the model using T0 and T1.

    What I should have done at the very start was this with/without Structure print. Diffing the gcode, it's clear that when I turn off support S3D is only sending code to print for the T1 extruder, so the print mirror must be happening in the flash. I've attached the two gcode files, one thing I note is that S3d still prints a curve for the support extruder even if it's not printing support.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Greg Holloway

    Greg Holloway Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    397
  19. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Factory firmware is the next test, attached my FFF.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    I fixed the gcode preview problems by taking out the offset for T1 in octoprint. Baby steps.
     

Share This Page