Problem with S3D Purge and Z height + AMAZING Edge print

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by jet, Nov 4, 2017.

  1. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Simplify3D 4, using Scaffold/Edge Medium - Medium both Oozeless/Ram Purge
    BigBox Hybrid, 1.1.0-RC6, switched from mesh bed to auto bed leveling.

    The problem I have is that if I print with Oozeless/Ram set, the z-height is squished. I've looked through the other threads here and I'm not seeing any obvious things to twiddle:
    bracket-rear.jpg bracket-front.jpg

    Ok, so how did I get that amazing print on the left? I printed without Scaffold. Check out the sides of this piece and the final print of a top rail over empty space:

     
  2. richgain

    richgain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    33
    Have a read through this thread https://forum.e3d-online.com/threads/z-axis-height-way-off.2651/
    I had similar problems with dual-extrusion prints coming out the wrong height. In the end, after much research, I discovered that there were a number of bugs discovered in 1.1.0-RC6. I was also working on my IDEX build (see here https://forum.e3d-online.com/threads/dual-titan-idex-another-try.2684/page-4) but I still needed to sort out the firmware. In the end I went for the latest build of Marlin, 1.1.5 I think, and managed to get dual extrusion working properly.
     
  3. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Thanks, I'll give 1.1.5 a try. I've stayed with RC6 because until now, it worked just fine.
     
  4. Paul Begley

    Paul Begley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    19
  5. jet

    jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    Just pulled a copy -- which branch is your reliable, work branch?
     
  6. Paul Begley

    Paul Begley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    19
    I use DHT_BF1.1.x_dev as my main working/dev branch.
    This has a number of tweaks that I’ve previously made. I tend to keep it merged with upstream bugfix1.1.x branch.
    If I was to add my own custom code, I would create a new test branch, before merging.

    I’ll try to get my local configs I use to compile against
     

Share This Page