SOLVED Re-setting the X and Y axes

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by Duncan Chivers, Jul 17, 2016.

  1. Duncan Chivers

    Duncan Chivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi All,

    So, after successfully updating the firmware on my Pro to RC6 (which I seemed to make far more complicated than necessary), the homing is now out of kilter, and an autohome carried out from the LCD results in the nozzle sitting at about X0 Y 68, rather than what I assume should be X150 Y100.

    Z seems to be ok, but I can't test it with a print yet because of the other axes.

    How do I specify what X and Y should be, either by the LCD or by Octoprint? - Currently the letters X, Y and Z are flashing on the LCD, and it shows the values X215, Y100, Z5

    I know that I can use Octoprint to move it to the centre in the Control tab, but how do I then set that as the middle permanently?
     
  2. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
  3. Duncan Chivers

    Duncan Chivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
  4. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
  5. Duncan Chivers

    Duncan Chivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes, I did - weird. I have to pop out for 20 mins, so I'll try doing it again when I get back.
     
  6. Duncan Chivers

    Duncan Chivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok, I hit restore failsafe, and then ran autohome. The display now reads X215 Y100 and Z5, which is exactly where the nozzle ends up once the autohome has finished.
     
  7. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Oh well that is correct, the IR is at X150 Y100 with an offset of X-65 brings the head to what you wrote...
     
  8. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    The flashing values just shows that the box is not sure anymore if the coordinates are right. This happens when the motors are powered down after 60 seconds of inactivity. If you home they don't flash...
     
  9. Duncan Chivers

    Duncan Chivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    I see, I was expecting the nozzle to be centred, rather than the IR. In that case I'll try a print, thanks!
     
  10. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Ya sorry, I always forget to take the offsets into account and they are different for every of the four supported BigBox versions...
     

Share This Page