Replicator 2 with Titan Aero Build

Discussion in 'Titan' started by Mike Kelly, Mar 24, 2018.

1. Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Volunteer

I've been poking at this design for a few months now. My replicator 2 is pretty reliable, but I hated the extruder. I had originally come up with a way to use an E3D v6 + titan on it, but it was big and bulky. I knew a titan aero would be a great extruder for this machine.

[​IMG]

Here's what the V1 looked like. Just a really bare bones mount and fan shroud. The shroud actually splits the airflow to bring it around to both sides of the nozzle, but it's not well optimized right now, I want to run some FEA on it, but prototyping a few designs and doing some hot wire anemometer tests would probably be more effective.

[​IMG]

It's a tight fit around the hot end
    [​IMG]

Printed in ABS with enough room for a silicone sock should keep it from warping or melting. Might try and print it on the multijet fusion at work :)

The first try was a failure. I had a bad "guide" in the model which blocked a portion of the airflow. I also had someone else set up the print and they didn't orient like I wanted so both test pieces broke pretty quick
    [​IMG]
    Note how left stream shoots forward and not towards middle like right channel. Water seems to make a good flow test

The goal is to evenly split the flow in a way that gets balanced airflow from either direction:
    [​IMG]

I don't think it's quite there yet though.

I wired up the V1 design and thought it was ready to start printing, but it turned out the nozzle was about a 5-10mm away from the bed. Luckily I found some spacers from old TV mounts. They're plastic but should work well enough for now
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]