Reset switch?

Discussion in 'BigBox General Chat' started by UlrichKliegis, Mar 8, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
  2. Trevor

    Trevor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    10
    By the way, I havent got a chance to look at the Marlin firmware yet. Is that button an actual kill switch that stops all operations or does it simply just reboot the entire system? I've heard it is not ideal to just simply reboot systems. Wonder if the button can be modified in the firmware specifically for bigbox to where it is an actual kill switch (if not) and maybe also slide the Z bed down a few mm when pressed as well.
     
  3. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
  4. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    481
    Hey @Chase.Wichert ,

    Did you measure up and confirm that the template was good. Sorry if I missed that report elsewhere.
     
  5. TstarkEngineering

    TstarkEngineering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    129
    wow I think this is the first post ever I have seen in the history of forums where someone suggested something else and someone didnt get offended and took it as advice. Thumbs up to Chase and Trevor!

    And so I am not off topic good job on the reset :p
     
  6. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    Hey, sorry my night didn't go as planned, I'll do it tonight and post.

    Hah, caught me on a good day. ;)
     
  7. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    I had my BigBox freeze on a print and it had no problem resetting it.. So I guess you could called it a kill switch.
     
  8. UlrichKliegis

    UlrichKliegis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    48
    You could measure that template yourself, e.g. in the netfabb freeware, or any other utility that digests stl. You might even make a very lightweight print of it yourself and compare it to the real world version.If it fits, you have a template inherently.
    Don't take this as a criticism, please, but rather as a trigger to put an accent on the MAKE aspect of 3D printing.
     
  9. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    Well, too be fair I did say I would print it to double check, and it is a little difficult to measure on the actual components
     
  10. Trevor

    Trevor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's quite a breath of fresh air when you're just making a wholehearted suggestion and people don't misinterpret it, spins it and then personally attacks you with nonsense. ;)

    Agreed. I also remember seeing someone say their knob wasnt aligned perfectly with the acrylic. The LCD controller isn't the most precision made part and likely to be assembled by hand rather than machine. "Measure twice, cut once"
     
  11. UlrichKliegis

    UlrichKliegis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    48
    Yet another piece off and still too short. :)

    As the one initiating the creation of the reset switch mod (the first mod of the BB?) with the question for it I take the liberty to convey some of my adventurous spirit of 'do what no one did before', and 'do it different from others'. All to be taken with a big shot of a wide smile, please!
     
  12. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    It is good to go.
     
  13. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    481
    You almost need a cover on the switch too so you can't hit it by accident :). I have this picture in my mind of a cat resetting it 90% the way through a 90 hour print.
     
  14. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    I don't have cats, and there is why lol, it'll probably just knock the printer to the ground anyway...
     
  15. Spoon Unit

    Spoon Unit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    481
    This printer is bigger and heavier than most cats. The M3D on the other hand ... mind you, my cat never thought it would try to sit in the M3D but has looked longingly a couple of times at the space under the print bed on the BB.
     
    mike01hu likes this.
  16. Ephemeris

    Ephemeris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    241
    Like many of us I've had need of emergency shutdown where I had no choice but to cycle power off and on. Now I'm told this can corrupt the Octoprint/Octopi install. Dr. Jeep reminded me of this old thread and voila! problem solved.

    NEB Reset Button 2016.0703.jpg

    Once again I'm in debt to Chase' great work making the BigBox live up to its potential.
     
    Alex Stevenson and Chase.Wichert like this.
  17. mike01hu

    mike01hu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    167
    As @Spoon Unit said some time back, you do need to cover the button as I have already inadvertently pressed the button halfway through a print, easy to do when you want to use the LCD to tune aspect of the print. :eek::(
     
  18. Alex Stevenson

    Alex Stevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14
    I think something like this would be a cool reset switch (if it were possible): https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11310
     
    mike01hu likes this.
  19. Chase.Wichert

    Chase.Wichert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    208
    You could always sand it flush so it doesn't protrude...
     
  20. Henry feldman

    Henry feldman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    391
    I am planning on using my inventables E-stop button like I have on my CNC. They also have it without the enclosure.
     
    Alex Stevenson likes this.

Share This Page