Setting the Z-height without baby-stepping

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by richgain, Oct 25, 2016.

  1. richgain

    richgain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    33
    Now that my printing has become much more stable and predictable (thanks to the triple combination of MBL with Alex's firmware, using PrintBite on the bed, and moving the Z-axis sensor onto the print bed) there is one more little thing I would like to iron out if I can.
    Every time I start a print I have to use the Baby-stepping menu option turning Z back to -160.
    Every print.
    What can I do to bake this setting into firmware or Simplify 3D scripts so that I can kick off a print without actually having to be in the room?
     
  2. Stian Indal Haugseth

    Stian Indal Haugseth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    95
    If your probe is consistent a new MBL should fix it.
     
  3. Jasons_BigBox

    Jasons_BigBox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    69
    Yes, it should sort itself out.

    You can set a z offset in the control>motion menu but if you can avoid it, keep it zero.
     
  4. richgain

    richgain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    33
    I know, it should. But I have repeated the Mesh Bed Levelling exercise several times and I always find that I get the best first layer if I set the nozzle 200 babysteps lower after the print has started.
     
  5. Syko_Symatic

    Syko_Symatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    78
    I have had this answered before but I can not find it on the search when using the control>motion>Bed Z is - towards the hotend or away from it?
     

Share This Page