[Solved] Bed crash with Titan and Alex RC6

Discussion in 'Calibration, Help, and Troubleshooting' started by Stefan, May 22, 2016.

  1. Stefan

    Stefan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    43
    (This is kind of solved by using Alex9779/BigBox/Dua/RC_Hybrid_Titan_MBL)

    So finally I'm in the mood and have time to finish my 1.1 Titan Dual upgrade....
    but it keeps crashing in the Bed at print start.

    here a Video...

    Ok Crash is maybe wrong but I do no a better name :)
    What I did so far...
    • Install 1 Titan Extruder and 1 hotend. (2nd hot end connected)
    • Installed Alex9779/BigBox/Dua/RC_Hybrid_Titan_ABL....
    • did a "Load FailSafe Setting"
    • "Store memory"
    • set the Z height by adjusting the IR sensor with a peace or belt.
    • tried auto home -> works, with z home in the middle of the bed.... OK...
    • Did a Auto bed level... arg... front right crash into right frame... -> need to adjust the point, rest looks OK
    • deleted all S3D printers and imported the dual from E3D Wiki -> now I have a Dual 1.1
    • checked the settings, the are looking okish, except Start g-code, added the Hybrid Dual from Alex they
    • tried a print....
      • Homing looks OK,
      • the head moves to dock
      • heats up
      • print starts and the crash....

    It feels like the bed is about 3 mm to high...

    I started the print, it crashes, press reset button, move the bed down and up and it touches the nozzle when the display shows 3mm.

    Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

    Here some g-code... looks ok to me
    Code:
    
    ; external perimeters extrusion width = 0.40mm
    ; perimeters extrusion width = 0.46mm
    ; infill extrusion width = 0.46mm
    ; solid infill extrusion width = 0.46mm
    ; top infill extrusion width = 0.46mm
    
    ;BigBox Printer Start Script Begin
    ;relies on M83 (use relative extrusion distances)
    M117 Preparing
    M140 S70 ;set bed temperature
    T0 ; select extruder 0
    M104 S220 ;set extruder temperature
    ;home
    T0 ; select extruder 0
    G28
    ;move to dock
    T0 ; select extruder 0
    G1 X70 Y200 F3000 ; move to position in front of dock
    G1 X70 Y240 F3000 ; move into dock
    ;heat bed
    M190 S70 ;wait for bed temperature
    ;heat extruder 0
    T0 ; select extruder 0
    M109 S220 ;wait for extruder temperature
    ;prime extruder 0
    T0 ; select extruder 0
    G1 E15 F200 ; reverse end of print retraction
    G1 E10 F50 ; extrude 10mm
    G92 E0     ;Reset E
    
    ;move out of dock
    T0 ; select extruder 0
    G1 X80 Y240 F3000 ; move to position in dock
    G1 X80 Y200 F3000 ; move out of dock
    
    M117 Print starting
    
    ;BigBox Printer Start Script End
    G21 ; set units to millimeters
    G90 ; use absolute coordinates
    M82 ; use absolute distances for extrusion
    G92 E0
    G1 E-1.40000 F4200.00000
    G92 E0
    G1 Z0.320 F6000.000
    G1 X121.109 Y87.508 F6000.000
    G1 E1.40000 F4200.00000
    ....
     
    #1 Stefan, May 22, 2016
    Last edited: May 22, 2016
  2. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    Think it must be something with the ABL... Didn't try that and I have no intentions to do so...
    When you do ABL then store your settings and then do a home is the nozzle at 0,0,0 and is the bed just touching the nozzle?
     
  3. Stefan

    Stefan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    43
    ABL... I would love it if it works ... TAZ mini/6... so nice, that paper MBL does not like me and vice versa....

    Ok when I ABL I store it. ( best would be put it Start g-code I think)
    at the of a auto home the ir sensor is is the middle of the bed
    see here https://goo.gl/photos/78DTLGm3RmBcmHGb6
    I had a look into the Marlin sources and it looks like this is planned...
    You set absolute values over the (max - min) /2 original..why ? but they look okish
     
  4. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    I didn't change that, that is stock Marlin, it is just the center of the bed. But that is what it was on the firmwares with ABL from E3D too...

    So how about the nozzle if you manually do ABL and then home your head? How far away is it from the bed, is it barely touching or is it "crashing" there too?
     
  5. Stefan

    Stefan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    43
    the Nozzle is not crashing, I would say IR 4mm and nozzle 2mm from bed, aka look normal.

    BTW I had the same issue with 1.0 dual RC~5 back to RC3 it was working normally
     
  6. Stefan

    Stefan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    43
  7. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    None that I know of there is only the version Greg posted when he released the Titan designs...
     
  8. Stefan

    Stefan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    43
    hmmmm I will try your MBL and then BB-RC3... but I think this crash because of the IR sensor new 1.1 position... let's see
     
  9. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    RC3 won't work just because of that, yes you can skip that...
     
  10. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
    I am not sure about the sequence when using ABL,Marist home the ABL or ABL then homing... Not sure... How did you do with RC3 and V1.0?
     
  11. Alex9779

    Alex9779 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    731
  12. Stefan

    Stefan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    43
    Ok then no RC3... it was my first attend to ABL... so I was hoping it helps but...
    With 1.0 RC3 I used MBL

    So Now with Alex9779/BigBox/Dua/RC_Hybrid_Titan_MBL
    New adjusted IR Sensor (same step as ever) and MBLed it does not crash/ hit the bed....
    Funny thing Home is now X30 Y30 Z4 with ABL it's like X150 Y130 Z4.

    So no ABL for me :( I have to continue my MBL fight.

    Btw the 13Ncm Pancake Stepper seems to work nice, should I adjust the Stepper Voltage?
     

Share This Page